We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and a BYO”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Mela - CLOSED

Gold Mela
Price range: $15 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wellington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food and a BYO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Had dinner here on a Saturday night as part of a large group celebration. Was impressed with their turnaround time considering everyone had entrees, mains and some deserts. You weren't sitting there wondering where your food was. Host very helpful and great memory for orders. Food delicious and very generous portions. Hard to choose what to have as there was lots of items that I just adore but settled for Risotto balls and pumpkin Gnoccni. Great to see a surburan resturant of such high class.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoverReturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Birthday Dinner to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Gold Mela now on Grange Road in Otumoetai a little out of the way but well worth the effort. Parking is easy, the meal for five of us was awesome, great range on the menu, we had three courses and nice wine which was delightful. The presentation of the dishes was exceptional and enhanced the experience. The staff were really helpful and a pleasure to deal with. I have recommended Gold Mela to many. We will be back. Our Visit was on th e 29th of May 2014

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillnpeterdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have dined at Gold Mela on four different occasions and every time we have had great food, great wine and great service. Every time I have chosen a different dish, (other than the most delicious duck pate which we have every time), and we have loved every dish. Love it that we have this lovely little restaurant just up the road from us

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“great menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Visted with friends and had glorious meals.highly recommend duck pate and yummy ravioli.and the dessert menu was so hard to choose from as liked them all

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank norrisfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Divine food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

On Saturday night we had the great fortune of dining at Gold Mela. I would recommend the Tuna Nicoise - wow amazing flavours, and the chocolate fondant was perfect - gooey in the middle!Thanks Freddy and team for the fantastic service and food

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hungryone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Mela also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing