We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Tauranga”
Review of Gold Mela - CLOSED

Gold Mela
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Tauranga”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a hidden gem...my favourite place to eat in Tauranga, inexpensive and understated but the food is always really good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ross116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A work in Progress”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It has been a while since we visited Gold Mela and with new owners we thought that we should give it a try. It was a busy and cool Wednesday night. The interior has been tidied up but retains its French rustic character. Initial service was prompt but unfortunately there were a few glitches. Our wine order was overlooked and no table napkins were present. However, the food was worth the wait. My wife's Avocado Cocktail was generous and my escargot had a wonderful garlic and butter flavour. My wife had the Poulet Milanaisse which was slightly overcooked but the accompanying pasta had a great flavour. The lamb rack was well presented and accompanied by excellent vegetables and a tasty jus. The flacid lettuce seemed a little unnecessary. The servers and the owner are all friendly and helpful. So overall it was a good start but as the owner said "It is a work in Progress".

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A group of 10 of us visited this great little restaurant and were all very impressed with the quality and quantity of the food....the mains were very generous. We all agreed that we would be back. The service was excellent and the new owner very friendly without being in your face! The atmosphere is quite quaint. My only query would be one of identity.....the name sounds Asian and the menu seems more European than just French. Maybe some careful rebranding would cause less confusion. Meanwhile we will spread the word that this is a fabulous, intimate place in which to dine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“3 words. The whole package.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Gold Mela is officially my new favourite place to dine. I loved the setting and the atmosphere, all the cute little nick nacks around the place and the adorable kitty give it a very cosy intimate feel. The staff were friendly and very accommodating (I’m ridiculously fussy). The wine list is quite obviously a work in progress, but even so it was very refreshing to see something not dominated by distributor contracts. I HATE seeing the same wine list all over town. The menu caters for everyone, and the food. Oh my god the food. My steak, ordered blue, was cooked perfectly. The blue cheese sauce was absolutely mouth watering. My date had the lamb rack which was succulent with a gorgeous red wine jus drizzled over it. On another important note, the portion size perfect, not too small not too big, and the prices very reasonable. Why go into town and pay $30 for a steak at the pub when you can have an infinitely better dining experience here for the same price? Unfortunately I chose to have wine for dessert so I am unable to comment on the desserts, but overall this place just does it for me. 3 words. The whole package. Can’t wait to come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mostly Very Good”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was the first time for us dining at Gold Mela. Lovely ambience. Tasty food of reasonable price. Menu seemed to be more Italian than French so was slightly confused in that regard being a French Restaurant. Had a lovely French wine for $37. All their wines were reasonably priced. The pate entree and lamb rack mains were the pick of what we had. Lovely. The only thing not up to standard from our group of 9 was the Nicoise Salad, missing ingredients. Someone elses review stated "home style food" which does sum it up. Not fine dining presentation but generous portions and beautiful flavours. Yum.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Mela also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing