We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to lake but out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Close to lake but out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This motel was easy to find as it is on the main road out of Taupo but it wasn't noisy and we were not at all disturbed by traffic or other noise. It is really close to the lake shore and you can get to the lake by a little path. I don't think any rooms have a lake view, although we did have a little private garden area which, if it were really hot, would have been a nice extension to the room. The room was really clean although the jacuzzi bath took up a ridiculous amount of space in what then became a small room. I admit that I am not a fan of these baths and so would have preferred either a larger bathroom with a better shower, or more space to move around in in the room. We were only here for one night so it was bearable, but if you were staying longer you might feel cramped.The kitchen area was a bit basic but adequate. Couldn't complain about the price.

Room Tip: Select one away from the road to ensure you don't hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi SuzyOxfordshire. The bypass around Taupo, which was built about 3 years ago, has made a huge difference to accommodation on Lake Terrace. There is very little traffic noise in any of our rooms now. We do have two lake-end apartments - maybe you can try one of these for a lake view next time! Thanks very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    143
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
196
378
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We found the owner to be very friendly and the room very clean and adequate. We were in a relatively small room but were still able to feel quite comfortable. The location is excellent and the wifi was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks Sharon for taking time to review Cottage Mews, much appreciated by our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here in Feb. and we enjoyed it a lot. We had a very warm welcome and the owners were very friendly and helpfull. The cottages look pretty, are very clean and have a good bed, shower and jacuzzi! The kitchen was very nice too and it is beautifully located next to the lake. Taupo is a nice town to go to for dinner or some drinks and it's located at only a couple of minutes driving distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrav v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks sandrav v. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay in Taupo and that Cottage Mews was part of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights with my two sons. Overall I found the place to be good but not outstanding in any way, but they really need to modernise the kitchen facilities. Certainly the owners were friendly, and the place was very clean. The location is good for accessing the lake, a short walk. But it is not good for the accessing the restaurants and other facilities of Taupo, albeit the drive is short but would be a very long walk.

The kitchen facilities have seen better days for sure. The fridge was poor (freezer did not freeze anything in it), the stove took ages to heat up, and the microwave was adequate. Plus the other electronics in the place are very dated. Most things worked but were of the cheap and nasty variety...and would have been cheap and nasty 20 years ago. Given the price of the place I would have expected better.

Overall I'd say they are friendly, clean and welcoming, but the costs have been cut in the facilities provided and for the price charged they need to do better. So not bad, but not really outstanding in any way either. Should I return to Taupo it is likely I'd try a different place and nothing really compels me to return. On the other hand, it is not a place to avoid either....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi Dougal - kitchen unit refurbishment is on the plan for this spring, but we're sorry you found us quite so basic, as most of our appliances (the fridges, for example) are less than two years old. We will certainly take your comments on board - motels are ongoing 'works in progress'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Cottage Mews Motel was the best place I stayed during my 3 and a half week tour of the north and south Islands.

The proprietors were ever so helpful and friendly and made me most welcome.

The condition of the property and room were top class and the free laundry service was very useful. There was wifi with good speed compared to all the other places I stayed.

There was about a 30 minute walk to the main shops and restaurant but it was a pleasant walk along the lake front.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback Ross, we all appreciate it. Great to hear the internet performed well - we know how important free wifi is to travellers these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Cottage Mews is a great motel. On our recent trip to Taupo we stayed in The Nook and it was perfect for my husband and I. The staff were welcoming and offered us guidance on the area. Highly recommend if you're looking for a place in Taupo (although we did have a car so drove into the town for dinner but in the summer you could easily walk!)

Room Tip: The Nook is great for a couple who are looking for a nice room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank foyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Glad our little Nook suited you both - it's a cute room for shorter stays. Thanks for your review foyna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This motel is well above average for New Zealand. We had a nice room with a whirlpool tub. The internet connection is somewhat erratic but the rest of the stay was fine. They also have guest laundry facilities available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
HI BKbeachers - thanks for reviewing us. Sorry for the unsteady internet during your stay - the weather was a bit challenging last month. Calm crisp winter days ahead! All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing