We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage mews, taupo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cottage mews, taupo”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel in an enviable location, really friendly reception, great facilities, lots to do and see round Taupo - thoroughly delighted with our choice. We were only here for one night, but could happily have spent lots more time here.

Room Tip: We were room 6 - the single storey room, so no overhead noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi JohnS. Great that you enjoyed your stay at Cottage Mews and that the location suited you. Although we are 5 minutes' drive from the CBD, we love being right on the edge of the lake - good for walking and sunset-watching, and swimming for those guests who are keen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    145
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
197
382
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Although we only stayed for one night, we had a great time there.
Room is clean, with a Spa and a private yard;
very good location, easy to find the place and just 1min walking distance to the lakeside;
the owner is very friendly.
And it has free wifi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ZHEYU H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks Jenny H - maybe we will see you in Taupo again one day. We're grateful for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the little nook for 1 night and found this to be great value with its own little court yard. The bed is very comfortable and the room was very clean. I highly Recommend staying there. ****+

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on the little Nook, Azzabe. It's a cute room, small but great for a night or two. Glad it suited you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Cottage Mews is fantastic. Comfortable accommodation, great location and wonderful owners who go out of their way to make their guests feel as welcome as possible. We've been coming here every summer for several years now and will continue to do so. The rooms are always clean and there is free wifi and BBQ facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks, Megan, for taking time out of your busy day to post a review. Always good to see your family - those boys have grown up so much over the past few years! All the best for 2014 and we hope to see you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simrishamn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Julie was so helpful in every way. She even drove us to a restaurant - fantastic! And the evening walks along the lakeside were spectacular. It was like living in a 2 story flat - and ... the spa bath in the bedroom Wow!

Good internet Connection, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank downunder81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Wonderful - we're pretty proud of the evening lakeside walks right now - the sunsets are just spectacular - but we can't take any credit for them! Thanks very much for your review, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night but wish it could have been longer. The apartment was extremely comfortable and very well equipped with even an iron and ironing board. The spa bath was lovely and the bed very comfortable. I particularly liked the layout with the upstairs sitting room looking out over the lake although the view was partially obscured it was still worth paying the extra.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HazelW569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for your review Hazel - and especially for coming back and spending another night with us after your trip to the gannets in Napier. We've just recommended that trip to some other guests travelling east. Hope you enjoyed more family time in the Bay, and that all goes well with the new arrival later this year. Kind regards, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great !! Felt welcome at this property and safe. Each unit have 2 levels, bedroom on the ground floor and the living room and kitchen on the second floor. Easy access to the Lake at the back of the property. Perfect for sunset walk, photography and star gazing.
Short easy drive to town where you have many restaurants, McDonalds, KFC, supermarkets, gas stations. Also a 5 mins drive to the airport for all the skydiving you need.
Only downside is there is no air-conditioning in the room. In the afternoon it can be warm, so leave the windows open. However by sunset, all these flying insects get into the room. It will be perfect
if they have those insect shields on their windows. other than that, no complains.

Room Tip: The last room facing the lake will have a good sunset view from the second floor but it will be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haven32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for staying Haven32. Hope you enjoyed the Tongariro National Park landscape after leaving Taupo - and congratulations on the sky dive. Yes, we're sorry about the little lake flies in summer - it's part of living right beside the water, unfortunately - but one good thing is that they don't bite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing