We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was only a one night stopover but if I was staying in Taupo longer I would stay here again. Nice private outdoor courtyard for each unit. Motel is very close to the lake. It was very quiet even though on the main road and the bed was very comfortable. It would be nice to have views of the lake but for the price it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hi Andrea - thanks for staying on your way south. If you're up this way again, call us direct for a 'return guests' rate. All the best, Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 739 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stopped in quite a lot of motels during my different trips in NZ and Australia but Cottage Mews is really one of a kind. It's just so cute it feels almost like a bed & breakfast. The hosts are very nice and helpful if you need them, yet discreet otherwise.
As for the location, it's few steps away from the lake's best spot in Taupo according to me : quiet with an amazing sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hi AlienM. We really appreciate your comments. One of the best things about Cottage Mews is that it is quite small - we like to think it has 'a B&B' heart. Without you, our guests, we're just a row of rooms - you all bring the life to the motel. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Charming cottage accommodation on the shores of Lake Taupo. The cottages are great for families with an upstairs master and huge jacuzzi and downstairs twin bed which also becomes lounge area and kitchen during the day. Staff are super friendly and my kids loved the trampoline out the front. Unfortunately we didn't get views of the lake (the rooms look out to the property in front) by you are only a few meters walk down to the lake. Walk down to the left to the Sailing Centre for nice coffee and muffins for breakfast. Crooked Door is a great spot for dinner

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tartan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hi Tartan69 - great that your children had fun on the trampoline - we've just set up the play area this summer and love seeing it getting so much use. Thanks for reviewing us and also for the dining recommendations - I'm off to the Two Mile Bay Sailing Centre for a lunchtime coffee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had a great room with a nice courtyard in the back. Staff were super friendly. 20 second walk to the lake. more characters to make this long enough more characters to make this long enough more characters to make this long enough

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank some_dude_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks some_dude_bill - loved your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful warm welcome from Julie; very comfortable, clean and well maintained unit. We were unfortunately only able to stay one night but enjoyed the one minute stroll to the lake and our refreshing swim (not as cold as we thought, clean and clear), the wonderful sunset view of the lake from our Lake End unit and a relaxing stroll around the lake.
The little upstairs/downstairs unit has everything you need to relax and enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you Austelan for reviewing us. The sunsets have been incredible this week too - we never get tired of seeing them above the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Cottage Mews is the only place we like to stay in Taupo. Wonderful location and a great place to stay with children. We have stayed here several times and love it! The family cottages are spacious and the private courtyards give children a little area to safely play in. The lake is only a hop, skip and a jump for the motel (handy with little children). Plus its the perfect place for the little ones to safely swim. The motel also has a lovely play area with a trampoline and hopscotch (this was popular with our 5 and 3 year olds). Highly recommend Cottage Mews to others!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzbenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

It's always great to see our family - and the kids growing year by year! Glad the play area was popular, and thanks for the lovely feedback. Best wishes for the year ahead, we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Cottage Mews gets five stars for the smile on my mum's face when she saw that her room had a hot tub. On top of that, they are located on the shore of Lake Taupo; the rooms are well equipped and clean and the beds are very comfortable. A cut above the average motel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks jamiddlebrook, our spa baths are kind of quirky and we're glad your Mum liked hers. We do appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $99 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing