We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveler rating
586
156
17
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardtwo storyfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 762 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here two very rainy nights the beginning of December and honestly I didn't care for Taupo at all. The motel was well equipped although I don't cook so it was useless to me but for those who do it is a plus. Room was clean enough but lots of insects, very tiny in the bathroom which was very small, no room for toiletries except under the sink as the countertop was minimal. There was a large jacuzzi tub in room that was nice and the lavender to add to the water was delightful but water accumulated around the deck area of tub since there were no drains. My husband soaked up the water with towels worried water might drain onto floor. The room was dark as we were in a corner unit at the end of the property. There are lots of properties to choose from in Taupo and my suggestion would be to get one lake front as well as one closer to the restaurants, etc. Maybe the walk to the cafés seemed longer since the rain was really coming down but when I read the description prior to booking it sounded like you were right there in the midst of shops, cafés, etc. Julie the proprietor was very friendly and I have nothing at all negative to say about her hospitality. Her spouse was a bit aloof but he does have a regular job in addition to also being a proprietor so that might account for his way. I just wasn't impressed by the accommodations or lack of local recommendations especially since we were limited due to the rain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hello DJFT. Sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your stay - but sorrier to hear that you didn't care for Taupo at all. What a shame you didn't ask us for some suggestions about what to do in wet weather, as there are plenty of options - arty cafes, a great little museum, rafting trips, hot pools - and even our geothermal attractions are steamier and somehow more mysterious on overcast days. If you are ever back in our part of New Zealand, I hope the sun shines for you. Best wishes - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We only had the pleasure to stay here for a night during our trip but it was one of our favorite rooms of the whole trip. The owners are very friendly and chatty and only to happy to assist. We were given room 0 which was a lovely self contained unit. The property is only 1 minute walk to the lakeside and a 5 min drive into town. Would certainly stay here again if visiting the Taupo area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you Simon. We enjoyed meeting you both - guests from Norway are not frequent! It is always great to hear that, if you were to come back, you would stay again. Best wishes for 2014 - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for just one night in December, in the Nook. This, as other reviewers have said, is a cosy, but adequately equipped room with separate toilet/shower, and a tiny, but surprisingly private outside patio, where we felt comfortable sitting out for an evening meal. The hotel is a few steps from the lake, though some distance from the town, so if you need food or drink you need a car. Staff were very helpful (and my wife was grateful for the launderette!)

A good, well-priced choice for Taupo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks Hugh for your feedback. Yes, The Nook patio matches The Nook - both are private and miniature. It's been great to see so many guests eating at the outdoor table under the umbrella this summer - a good spot for a glass of wine and some fish and chips and salad, now that Christmas ham leftovers are done with for another year! Best wishes - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were sadly disappointed with The Cottage Mews. There was no view from the windows and it was very overlooked and there were no blinds that could be pulled without blocking off all the light. The owners did kindly inform us before we booked that this would be the case for the house we booked. There was however a very nice spa bath which we found very relaxing. And it was nice having a kitchen and sitting/tv room. This is a lovely place I imagine to stay in Winter as it is cosy. However I would not recommend it for a couple traveling in Summer who want to open the windows and have a nice view of the lake. The owners however are very nice and friendly and the location good being right next to the lake where swimming and kayaking is an option. The quality of the cleaning was not good. There were dead flies/hair on the bathroom floor when we arrived and they were there when we left 3 days later. There were on the other hand ample clean towels. So there were good and bad points but on the whole I would not stay here again if staying at Lake Taupo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hello Aoife and Robert. Sorry that the unit you reserved had no lake view, and that we couldn't offer you one, with the lake-end apartments already booked. It's a shame that you didn't tell us about your cleaning concern during your stay - I've passed on your comment to our team, who hate to hear that any of our guests are unhappy with the standard of cleanliness. Do hope that the rest of your honeymoon went well, and that you have some great New Zealand memories. Best wishes - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for a night on 13 December 2013. Wonderful unique 2 level cottage with a separate double bed with its own private spa bath and separate toilet on the upper level. good kitchen facalities and 3 single beds on the lower level. It is also close to the lake where we get to see a beautiful sunset and great views of the lake. Also has a private courtyard. The unit is very clean and owners are friendly and helpful. Too bad we only stayed a night...would love to spend more. Highly recommended and close to the town centre. Excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afoo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for your review Afoo306. We wish you could have stayed longer too! Your comments are much appreciated. Hope you enjoyed the trip south, and that maybe you can come again someday. Kind regards - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews