We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful stay in cute lakeside unit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay in cute lakeside unit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We only had the pleasure to stay here for a night during our trip but it was one of our favorite rooms of the whole trip. The owners are very friendly and chatty and only to happy to assist. We were given room 0 which was a lovely self contained unit. The property is only 1 minute walk to the lakeside and a 5 min drive into town. Would certainly stay here again if visiting the Taupo area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you Simon. We enjoyed meeting you both - guests from Norway are not frequent! It is always great to hear that, if you were to come back, you would stay again. Best wishes for 2014 - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    143
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
195
374
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for just one night in December, in the Nook. This, as other reviewers have said, is a cosy, but adequately equipped room with separate toilet/shower, and a tiny, but surprisingly private outside patio, where we felt comfortable sitting out for an evening meal. The hotel is a few steps from the lake, though some distance from the town, so if you need food or drink you need a car. Staff were very helpful (and my wife was grateful for the launderette!)

A good, well-priced choice for Taupo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks Hugh for your feedback. Yes, The Nook patio matches The Nook - both are private and miniature. It's been great to see so many guests eating at the outdoor table under the umbrella this summer - a good spot for a glass of wine and some fish and chips and salad, now that Christmas ham leftovers are done with for another year! Best wishes - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were sadly disappointed with The Cottage Mews. There was no view from the windows and it was very overlooked and there were no blinds that could be pulled without blocking off all the light. The owners did kindly inform us before we booked that this would be the case for the house we booked. There was however a very nice spa bath which we found very relaxing. And it was nice having a kitchen and sitting/tv room. This is a lovely place I imagine to stay in Winter as it is cosy. However I would not recommend it for a couple traveling in Summer who want to open the windows and have a nice view of the lake. The owners however are very nice and friendly and the location good being right next to the lake where swimming and kayaking is an option. The quality of the cleaning was not good. There were dead flies/hair on the bathroom floor when we arrived and they were there when we left 3 days later. There were on the other hand ample clean towels. So there were good and bad points but on the whole I would not stay here again if staying at Lake Taupo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello Aoife and Robert. Sorry that the unit you reserved had no lake view, and that we couldn't offer you one, with the lake-end apartments already booked. It's a shame that you didn't tell us about your cleaning concern during your stay - I've passed on your comment to our team, who hate to hear that any of our guests are unhappy with the standard of cleanliness. Do hope that the rest of your honeymoon went well, and that you have some great New Zealand memories. Best wishes - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for a night on 13 December 2013. Wonderful unique 2 level cottage with a separate double bed with its own private spa bath and separate toilet on the upper level. good kitchen facalities and 3 single beds on the lower level. It is also close to the lake where we get to see a beautiful sunset and great views of the lake. Also has a private courtyard. The unit is very clean and owners are friendly and helpful. Too bad we only stayed a night...would love to spend more. Highly recommended and close to the town centre. Excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afoo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for your review Afoo306. We wish you could have stayed longer too! Your comments are much appreciated. Hope you enjoyed the trip south, and that maybe you can come again someday. Kind regards - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

One of the best places we stayed in NZ. Unfortunately, only able to do one night. Free wifi (which is scarce in NZ), gd location and views and enjoyable bicycle rides around the lake near the cottage.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keenz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hello Keenz28. Nice to meet you just before Christmas. Thanks for taking time to review your stay at Cottage Mews. We hope the rest of your time in New Zealand was memorable, and that 2014 is off to a great start for you. Best wishes - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed with kids for three nights. Very handy location, 1 minute walk to the lake, right at the main road, but not noisy at all. Easy 5 mins drive to the centre of Taupo.
Staff soooo friendly and helpful.
The rooms are tidy, furniture in retro style. Spa bath cool, with complementary levandel oil provided.
Kitchen well equipped. Shared barbie with all the required gear provided.
Well recommended.

Room Tip: No. 7 is ideal with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schubi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We enjoyed meeting you all, and your family visiting from overseas. Great to see the BBQ area getting a lot of use this summer, and the trampoline too. Hope to see you for more holidays in Taupo sometime. All the best for the year ahead - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

What a brilliant place to stay. We stayed in the Nook, which is exactly what it says - tucked away in the corner, but still very comfortable with en-suite and kitchenette. It also has it own very private little patio, and with communal braai (BBQ for the rest of you) facilities and only 3kms along the lake from town this was incredible value for money.

The reception was definitely the friendliest we got thus far on our trip with plenty of free tourist advice.

Keep up the great work - if we ever end up at this end of the world again, we will stay here without a doubt!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Pieter D, and happy New Year! We love discussing guest plans - there's always too much to do and too little time, and we're happy to help. Thanks for staying with us in The Nook, and for your kind comments. Maybe we will get to host you again at this end of the world one day? Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing