We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were 3 people traveling together so our booking was normal room with Queen bed and one sofa bed but we were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to family room without any extra cost. It's hardly a five minute drive to city center and friendly staff recommended us few good restaurants there.
i am already in Love with lake Taupo and it's just at the back of the Motel. Not even a minute walk, 30 sec :)

Apartment had all basic facilities in Kitchen and if you are staying there you have to have to get into the Spa Bath Tub.

Overall very good Motel with value to money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vid-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hello to you all, and thanks for your review. We're glad that the larger cottage suited you better, and especially that you loved our lake. Come and visit again! The sunsets this week have been stunning and the little beach behind Cottage Mews is a great place to sit and watch in the evenings. Thanks for staying with us in Two Mile Bay. Kind regards, Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 744 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

There was a slight mix up with our booking, we ended up double booked and moved to a new apartment but the owner did everything they could to get us settled and through in a breakfast for us. They were also very accommodating because we were travelling with our 17 month old daughter sorting out a cot, bedding and stair gate. Very good service and a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi Kate - thanks for your feedback and especially for your flexibility, which helped our earlier guests out - much appreciated. You wee girl is just gorgeous and we enjoyed having you all at Cottage Mews - she will bring you lots of fun as she grows. Best wishes for the Christmas season - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in this great little motel just 2-3 minutes drive from the town center. We book the 2-floor unit completely at the end of the complex (room #9 or 10, don't remember). We really liked the kitchenette/lounge/balcony with lake view on the 2nd floor and the bedroom/bathroom on the 1st. Very clean and comfortable. Free parking and free wifi Internet access (very important for us techies!!). The host was really nice and gave us great attraction and restaurant advice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only two units have a lake view, ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thanks for your review, the lake-end apartment with the deck is unit 9 and it is a favourite, great for the sunsets and warm weather. We appreciate you staying with us at Cottage Mews - and we think the coffee and food at Body Fuel are excellent too! Best wishes, Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our room, called “The Nook”, was at the end of the motel row and might not be representative of other rooms/suites. It has a nice little private patio to the side.

On the Plus side: very clean and obviously very new motel. Nice decoration. Has a small kitchenette and dining table. Good free wifi. Free parking.

On the Minus side: Overall pretty small. Bathroom sink is minimal; no place to put clothes (besides a couple of hangers on the wall), not even one drawer. No A/C.

Room Tip: If you are after a patio, The Nook has one. Not sure about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hello Luc V! The Nook is our smallest and best-value room, a cosy queen studio ideal for a short stay. Glad you liked the refurbished look and enjoyed the courtyard. All of the units have private garden courtyards with outdoor furniture. In summer (almost here!) the outside areas are great for everything from al fresco breakfasts to Devonshire teas to pre-BBQ drinks. Thanks for choosing Cottage Mews, we appreciate it. Kind regards - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Cottage Mews is a very pleasant motel on the outskirts of Taupo set back between the lake shore (unfortunately you can't see the lake, but there is direct access to it via a 20 second stroll) and the road.
The hotel owners are very friendly and give a warm welcome. The rooms are perfectly functional, if a little tired now (the motel's tag line is "tradition by the lake", which is a polite way of saying it hasn't been redecorated since the 1980s), but don't let that put you off (a lot of Taupo motels look like they're firmly in the 70s or 80s) as its all clean and functional (apart from the central radio system that used to be piped through from reception). Spa bath was lovely (though again bit 1980s having it actually in the bedroom rather than the bathroom)

Stayed: November 2013
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks Jon for your review. Yes, you were in one of our still-quite-floral rooms, but most are now refurbished in a modern cottage style. Would love to have kept the piped radio system - a unique feature! Hope the Hawkes Bay wine trails and the rest of your New Zealand trip went well. Best wishes to you both, Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We chose The Cottage Mews Motel based on the tripadvisor reviews and it surpassed our expectation.

About the hosts :
Terry and Julie are friendly , cheerful and very helpful hosts.
They gave us lots of tips on places to eat and local attractions complete with maps and handouts.
We wanted to rent a bicycle for an hour and when asked about the price Terry just said not to bother about it.
That was really a nice gesture and much appreciated.

Room:
We stayed for 3 nights and our unit was No.5
The unit was surprisingly spacious, well kept, super clean and had a beautiful private sit out.
Plus we had a full working kitchen at our disposal and a nice Jacuzzi with bath oil and towels .
Milk in a small ceramic jug was a nice touch and they were kind enough to provide us the milk the second time.
Being right next to the lake, we were able to enjoy long walks on the lake front.
They even have kayak, canoe and bike for hire at a nominal price – so no need to go hunting for them in the town.

Thank you Terry & Julie for making our stay wonderful !

Regards and warm wishes – from India “The real Indians” *nudge nudge wink wink *

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimbleguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hello 'real Indian' friends! Your review made our day and your stay was a highlight of our month. Thank you for your generous feedback. Hope the rest of your New Zealand trip was memorable - no doubt you took some fun wherever you went. We will remember you! Best wishes from Cottage Mews - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a lovely little place Julie has here! The two-storey unit at the left end of the motel was simply lovely, what with a hot tub, whimsical furnishing, a second level with views of Lake Taupo and plenty of room to laze around. The place felt secure and the room was quiet. Cleanliness was top-notch.

Julie herself was so helpful as well, providing us with information on what to do near Taupo on a rainy day. We'll definitely come back for another stay if we return to Taupo.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We love your description of the lake-end apartment. Thank you for taking time to review your stay - so glad you enjoyed Cottage Mews and Taupo, in spite of the weather. We are enjoying visitors from all over the world this month - how lucky are we?! Kind regards, Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 68 in Taupo
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $101 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing