We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place tucked away from town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming place tucked away from town centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely little place Julie has here! The two-storey unit at the left end of the motel was simply lovely, what with a hot tub, whimsical furnishing, a second level with views of Lake Taupo and plenty of room to laze around. The place felt secure and the room was quiet. Cleanliness was top-notch.

Julie herself was so helpful as well, providing us with information on what to do near Taupo on a rainy day. We'll definitely come back for another stay if we return to Taupo.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We love your description of the lake-end apartment. Thank you for taking time to review your stay - so glad you enjoyed Cottage Mews and Taupo, in spite of the weather. We are enjoying visitors from all over the world this month - how lucky are we?! Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    143
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
196
378
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I checked out the trip advisor before we headed south, and decided to stay at The C.M.M. Taupo, stayed 2 nights, and enjoyed it so much stayed another 2 nights on the way home.
Well located, no noise, clean towels daily, friendly helpful. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank b_sharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Great to have you staying (both ways!), and thanks for your review. We haven't replanted yet where the trees came out, but hope to do so soon. Lovely to meet you both - we look forward to seeing you again. Great that our local restaurant worked out well for you too. Kind regards, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We've stayed at Cottage Mews before and love it. The rooms are always clean and layout of the family unit is perfect. The spa is a lovely way to relax. A quick walk to the lake and short drive to town, location is awesome. Julie is always helpful - she called us when our son left something behind, before we'd even realised it was missing. She returned it promptly and is always so friendly. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Cottage Mews is in a handy location with free parking. The units are well equipped, clean and comfortable, and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our courtyard seemed a little untidy, but I understand our unit was in line for some rejuvenation.

I would definitely stay at The Cottage Mews again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tehoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed our overnighting "The Nook" a quiet little corner of the motel, our welcome was warm and friendly. The breakfast was good value for the price, and arrived on time, even the toast was warm. This motel was rated high on Trip Advisor and we now know why.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 973JimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Our hosts at Cottage Mews were very friendly and made our stay in Taupo very relaxing. The rooms are very well laid out and the spa bath a wonderful luxury. The views of the lake are amazing and there is easy access to the lake shore for enjoyable walks. We enjoyed the beautiful sunsets.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Julie was very welcoming and genuinely was interested in making sure we had a pleasant stay. We only stayed one night, but if we're in Taupo again, we'd make the trip longer! Also, we left something in the room by accident, and Julie let us know by email, and promptly sent it to us, which we got just a couple days later. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had the room on the end that didn't have a lake view, but it had a nice garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahwong03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing