We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Cottage Mews for another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely motel twice within the last 12 months and would happily return again. The room, kitchen and bathroom are spotless. The owners are friendly and very helpful. They telephoned us after check out to let us know that housekeeping had found my (cheap) pair of reading glasses and would keep them at the desk until we passed through Taupo again on our way back from Hawke's Bay. We appreciated this and especially enjoy walking down the path to the lake shore. Gorgeous! Thank you

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tasman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 725 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very pleasant motel close to Lake Taupo's water edge, a short drive from the town centre Good kitchen facilities within the apartment and private patio. Clean and comfortable room which included a huge private spa bath. Communal BBQ and laundry facilities. The host was very knowledgable and helpful and arranged sightseeing trips for us - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stop in at the Cottage Mews Motel in Taupo and stay the night in double plus single room at this lovely motel on our way back from Auckland at Easter. We were so impressed with the friendly owners and the standard of the accommodation. The unit was very clean and welcoming and the beds and pillows were so comfortable that we all had the best sleep ever in a motel! We will definitely be recommending to family and friends and staying there every time we pass through Taupo. Reasonable rates! Very clean and welcoming - a home away from home!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

we stayed overnight at this motel in March and thoroughly enjoyed the experience . Our room was good value for money it was small but clean and well appointed with a small courtyard. The owners were particularly helpful and were proud of their well deserved good reviews on trip advisor. I would most definitely stay here again it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clishmaclaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is a very short walk to the lake. You can use the trail to walk into town for restaurants, shopping, etc. The lake is beautiful .Julie, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect for two people. Even though they call it "the nook", there was plenty of room. Great place,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMESG883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were so lucky to get the last room (a family room) at this hotel. I only wish we could have spent more time here. Wonderful reception from Julie; great source of information and just plain fun to talk to! This motel is spotless. The cleanest laundry room I've ever seen traveling. Our family suite was so unique and fun to stay in. Given the close proximity to the lake, we were able to have the best sunset of our trip. A really great place to stay. Hope to be back again some day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling4some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a lovely corner upstairs/downstairs small apartment with a view of the lake from upstairs. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. Julie was lovely and very accommodating. We had dinner at The Ploughman up the street which was very good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $95 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing