We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveler rating
586
156
17
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardtwo storyfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 762 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a very well run motel and the owner makes you feel like a friend,gives excellent advice on eating places and tourist attractions.The rooms are currently being refurbished and are spotlessly clean,roomy,have all facilities and have their own spa and courtyard.The motel is about a 40 minute pleasant lakeside walk from Taupo or 5 mins by car.We walked into Taupo and had an excellent meal at Taupon Thai and our hosts happily picked us up when we were ready to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very cute and lovely place to stay! Owner is very helpful and welcoming. Will definitely recommend to everyone!

Four of us had one night stay and wish we could stay for another night. We had two rooms booked, before we took off, we kindly asked the owner to show us the family suite room. It is very spacious and got all you need, will try that next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were a bit shocked when we arrived, as our booking (via booking.com) had not been received - although we had got a confirmation from Booking.com several months earlier. The host told us that there had been a period where bookings had gone astray, and didn`t seem too concerned about this. It could have been a problem had the hotel been booked out, but luckily it was not and we were "upgraded" to a two - storey maisonette, which is designed for a family. The apartment was large (too large for 2 of us!) and well-equipped, but I think it was a "slated for refurbishment" one, as it was very tired looking and in need of redecoration. It did have a spa-tub which was interesting.
The hotel is quite a way out of Taupo centre - you need a car to get there. Couple of eating places are walking distance, and the lake is near. Warning: if you sleep with the windows open be prepared to share your room with numerous lake flies!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were no-reservation overnight guests and arrived late in the day. The owner was very graceous in showing us to our room and explaining the amenities, and we were soon on our back garden patio having a glass of wine before sunset, and in complete silence. We then wandered down the 100M pathway to the lake side with our wine and took in the sunset over the lake, accompanied by a family ducks, as joggers and cyclists passed us by. We were advised to eat about 1 km up the road at the Ploughman tavern, which we thoroughly enjoyed, away from the bustle of downtown Taupo.

The rooms are clean, compact and have all amenities. I thought it would be a great place to stay several nights with older children, because of the safe access to the lake (no road in between), especially if they were keen on using the lake for biking and kyaking.

After we arrived back in Australia, my wife discovered she had lost a shoe. We contacted the owners, and they kindly offered to post the shoe to us at their own expense.

Altogether a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a one night stay and wished we could have stayed longer as it was so peaceful. It is close to the lake and not far to town. We loved being able to sit outside and read on our own patio. The unit had a view over a rooftop to the lake and the rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. The breakfast "Parfait" delivered to our room was delicious. Julie,the host, is a wonderful woman who could not have been more helpful. We will be back one day I hope.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews