We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The service was excellent, but the room was a bit tired and showing its age. While the location is near the lake, there are no views as I expected - maybe I didn't read the fine print carefully! There is plenty of competition in Taupo so try them instead. I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We're sorry you expected views - only our lake-end studios face out towards the lake. The family cottage you booked, and all of our other units, are less than a minute from the lake edge - great when you want to photograph stunning sunsets like the one we had last night - or take a dip (some keen guests are already doing this!) Glad you enjoyed the Orakei Korako experience, and that you called back for your belongings before heading over to Napier. Best wishes, Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thank you again Julie for another wonderful stay - a pleasure as always and we will be back. It might be nice to see some toppa pads on the bed as they're a bit hard but we see you are going through room by room and renovating which is great news.

Your family units are just great - Emma loved it, thought it was a real novelty and is already asking how many more kindy days she has until we go on holiday again.

Room Tip: Yes there are stairs in the family units but baby gates are provided when needed for littlies. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NzKiwi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights traveling as couple with 3 YO. The hosts, Julie and Terry, were great! Very friendly and helpful. She made us feel welcome and they were also good source of information about Taupo and surroundings. After checking out, we left something in the room and they arranged to send it to us and didn't want to be reimbursed. The room was very clean, roomy and homy. There was spa which was great after long drive. There was also wonderful small garden at the back. The beds were comfortable. There were selections of teas, coffees and chocolates in the kitchenette. The hotel was just only 2 minutes walk; i saw kayaks in the hotel and Julie said that guests can use them. The was laundry facility with dryer for the quests. We will definitely stay there again if we visit Taupo/Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Julie is the perfect host and room 1 with the spa bath was a joy for my wife having put up with showers for a few days prior. The accommodation has everything the traveller could wish for and the lake view at the end of the garden is spectacular. Taupo is a must stay place for the travellers working their way round NZ and is has many good restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 1 with a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were all over looking for accommodation to suit both the family and friends, the budget and the location but came across this hotel - not the most modern looking from the outside compared to the ones around it buy by crikey everything else was far superior. Julie greeted us and NOTHING was a problem, she made us feel extremely welcome. We used the hotel BBQ for dinner that night, had a spa bath which the kids just loved - Julie even checked that they had the right channel for the All Blacks game that next morning for the hubby! It was an absolute delight to stay here and we won't look any further when staying in Taupo next time unless with all these positive reviews it will probably be booked out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for one night travelling alone, was made to feel really welcome by Julie. The room was spotless with very comfortable bed and nice shower. A big treat was the wonderful filter coffee available in the room. It is only two minutes walk to the lake so the location is superb. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scratchitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in Taupo as a single to attend a family gathering early October and selected the Cottage Mews to be within walking distance of the venue. How lucky I was. The staff were very helfull and friendly from Management to Cleaners.The weather was pretty miserable but the room warm as toast. Nice to have proper milk in the jug for the tea and catch up on my emails with the free Wi Fi so I extended an extra day.
JLS

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $99 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing