We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at the lovely cottage mews on the shores of Lake Taupo with our 2 children 9 and 12. We love the upstairs/downstairs nature of the units. We get our own toilet, spa bath lovely huge bed with TV upstairs, whilst the kids slept downstairs ( they had their own TV too) Space plus. You can nip out the back and walk along the shores of Lake Taupo. Being Techy family we loved the free access to Wireless for our IPADS. Cosey electric blankets and most importantly super service. Very friendly hosts - We left our Coffee plunger behind and it was promptly sent back to us free of charge - can't get better than that. A great stay for families with old fashion country cottage charm with all the comforts you can ask. :) happy Campers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 727 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Lake Taupo is a MUST for visitors to the North Island, as is the Tongariro Alpine Crossing which is close by. We arrived in Taupo without thermals which are highly recommended for anyone attempting the Crossing (the weather is very changeable apparently) and thought we would not be able to do the walk. Wrong. We found delightful accommodation at Cottage Mews Motel, run by Julie and Terry Slee, which is a one minute walk to the lakeside, and immediately were offered the necessary thermals and booked up to do the walk the following day (hooray). The accommodation was excellent (particularly the wonderful spa we were able to have at the end of our walk), and the advice and assistance was impeccable. The price was comparatively low and the availability of kayaks for use on the lake was a very nice surprise. We had a great stay and have much to thank Julie and Terry for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived and were greeted by Julie what wonderful warm welcome, we have stayed at Cottage Mews before and its what I call a home away from home

Room Tip: The rooms that look out to the lake & mountain are lovely & private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The service is great here, friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. We could hear the family next door, especially the kids in the morning but it wasn't annoying. The hot water is extremely hot, nice for showers and baths but do be careful if you have young children! I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The owners were very friendly and remembered us from our previous visit. We had a lake end apartment which was lovely and warm, had great views and had everything we needed. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manx_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It has taken me far too long to write this review after our lovely stay at the cottage mews.

The owners are so friendly and welcoming and the rooms were comfortable and perfect for us as a family.

Unfortunately the weather was not the best and we found the rooms very warm and cosy to be in when stuck inside and the bath in the bedroom was lovely luxury when we came in from the cold and wet.

We highly recommend this motel and it would be our first choice to stay in next time we are in Taupo.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank frequentflyerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Great that you made the most of Taupo activities in spite of the January weather. Thank you for taking time to review us - we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were in unit 9 on the end looking out over the lake, a split level unit with the living area upstairs including a balcony. Good free Wi-fi. The spa bath in the bedroom was novel but great fun. Units are a little dated,but very clean and extremly well equiped. The lake is 30 secs away. We had planned 2 days here and 2 in Rotorua, on reflextion we wish we had booked all 4 here as Rotorua is within easy reach and this motels location is great and the welcome warm.

Room Tip: Reception give great advice and discount vouchers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thanks for taking time to review us. We would love to have had you stay another couple of nights - Taupo is a good base for exploring - there's lots to see within a couple of hours drive. Your lake-end apartment will close for a bit after Queen's Birthday for refurbishment. Paint and paper ready to go, new bathroom, carpet and upgraded kitchen. After our recent guest survey, we realised that the spa bath in the bedroom has to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $99 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing