We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived and were greeted by Julie what wonderful warm welcome, we have stayed at Cottage Mews before and its what I call a home away from home

Room Tip: The rooms that look out to the lake & mountain are lovely & private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    145
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
197
382
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The service is great here, friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. We could hear the family next door, especially the kids in the morning but it wasn't annoying. The hot water is extremely hot, nice for showers and baths but do be careful if you have young children! I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The owners were very friendly and remembered us from our previous visit. We had a lake end apartment which was lovely and warm, had great views and had everything we needed. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manx_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

It has taken me far too long to write this review after our lovely stay at the cottage mews.

The owners are so friendly and welcoming and the rooms were comfortable and perfect for us as a family.

Unfortunately the weather was not the best and we found the rooms very warm and cosy to be in when stuck inside and the bath in the bedroom was lovely luxury when we came in from the cold and wet.

We highly recommend this motel and it would be our first choice to stay in next time we are in Taupo.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Great that you made the most of Taupo activities in spite of the January weather. Thank you for taking time to review us - we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were in unit 9 on the end looking out over the lake, a split level unit with the living area upstairs including a balcony. Good free Wi-fi. The spa bath in the bedroom was novel but great fun. Units are a little dated,but very clean and extremly well equiped. The lake is 30 secs away. We had planned 2 days here and 2 in Rotorua, on reflextion we wish we had booked all 4 here as Rotorua is within easy reach and this motels location is great and the welcome warm.

Room Tip: Reception give great advice and discount vouchers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review us. We would love to have had you stay another couple of nights - Taupo is a good base for exploring - there's lots to see within a couple of hours drive. Your lake-end apartment will close for a bit after Queen's Birthday for refurbishment. Paint and paper ready to go, new bathroom, carpet and upgraded kitchen. After our recent guest survey, we realised that the spa bath in the bedroom has to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived in Taupo in the rain - and it didn't stop - so thank goodness we had a room at Cottage Mews. Yes, it's a bit dated, but what it lacks in high end mod cons it makes up for in charm and service. The split-level accommodation had a bathroom, comfy bed and spa bath and shower downstairs and living accommodation and deck upstairs. In half decent weather it woul be absolutely fantastic with decent views of the lake.
Julie was so friendly and helpful... a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MewsTaupo, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thanks for your review. We'll be refurbishing the lake-end apartments over winter - lots of painting and papering ahead. Laura Ashley will still be here at Cottage Mews, just not in so many varieties! All the best for the next 25. Loved your Franz Josef story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a lovely view of the lake facing south,also the mountains, from an upstairs unit.2 story unit.Living upstairs.Only 2 armchairs there & not very comfortable.A couch would have been nice.Great spa bath.Unit a little tired,but very clean.30 secs to beach.Very friendly people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing