We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Mira, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a lovely view of the lake facing south,also the mountains, from an upstairs unit.2 story unit.Living upstairs.Only 2 armchairs there & not very comfortable.A couch would have been nice.Great spa bath.Unit a little tired,but very clean.30 secs to beach.Very friendly people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    145
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
196
380
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Went to Taupo, and planned to check few motels by myself before deciding which one to book. (of course checked tripadvisor's review the day before). Reached Taupo and found this cottage first. I went in and asked for available room. The one facing Lake was all occupied. The guy (Terry) said he got another available room, but only garden view... $30 bucks less. The way he speak and serve his customer changed my mind and I straight away take the room without thinking about another "Lake View" unit in other motel.

Went in to the room...

Kitchenette - All complete, just like normal serviced apartment. Got warning sign telling not to cook strong smell foods *I know this is not important*. Well, kitchen just perfect.

Toilet and shower - Shower and toilet bowl separated by a wall. Shower doesn't have glassdoor, only shower curtain. Toilet bowl looks pretty old, but 100% clean and working condition. No stain or whatsoever. Floor very clean as well.

Bedroom - 32 inch HD Ready Samsung, the rest of furniture are fine. (you can see from the picture later). No funny smells of old furniture.

Garden - a small garden with one coffee table and 2 chairs. Simple, but it's good to enjoy a cup of tea in the morning.

Internet - no such hourly/daily/weekly package. It's a "all you can eat" internet.

Jacuzzi??? - This is what I surprised. There is a jacuzzi for bubble bath just beside your bed!. well well, this is a great deal! If you go with your family or partner this would be perfect for you. I didn't expect this with this kind of price :p

Location - To be honest it might not be the best location if you are looking somewhere near to the shopping center (town), but it's just on the lake itself. You really don't need to cross the road. I'm driving there, and I don't really walk around the city at night, so really doesn't matter for me.

Extra facility - Kayaks $4 for an hour. Cheap!. just grab and ask for life jacket.

Service - Well, told you earlier that the guy did change my mind. I never question their service :D.

Safety box - Didn't check and didn't see it btw... probably they don't have it.

I give a 5 star rate here as all the components there 100% working, tho it's not fancy (They never claim they are a 5star hotel anyway). An excellent sleep quality. And Jacuzzi contribute a point to the rating.

Enjoy the picture. I will be back here again definitely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebosatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a studio on the ground floor with a delightful small courtyard which was a real suntrap. The self-catering facilities were good for making breakfast etc. The location was excellent - right by the lake with a walking path and close enough to Taupo for essentials without being right in the town. Pub and a fish and chip shop were a couple of minutes drive away. However the highlight of our stay was the lady on reception. She was so friendly and helpful, advising us what to see and do and giving us maps and discount vouchers - she had plenty of time to talk to us and nothing was too much trouble. We loved our visit and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathermw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Good solid accommodation at a good price.
Nice friendly staff and very accommodating.
Right on the lake - but very few units (if any) with lake views.
Great price for the room size and location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fragmented5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This isn't the first time we've stayed here and I'm sure it won't be the last. The decor is a little dated but who cares when the place is as clean and as tidy as it is. We got upgraded to a family suite with master bed, toilet & spa bath upstairs, and kitchen, bathroom & lounge downstairs.

Great having the path down to the lake. Took fish & chips down there one day for lunch when we wanted something casual (highly highly recommend "The Grand Central Fry" in Rifle Range Road if you've got a car). Then we went for a lovely walk around the lake edge. There is a path to follow & lots of seats to sit down & enjoy the view along the way if you so desire. Took us just over an hour to get to Rainbow Point Reserve (but you can go further if you want) and we sat down to enjoy the view & watch the kayakers at one point.

Thanks for a great weekend away. Taupo is a great place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NzKiwi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We only had one night on our tour of NZ but was wonderful.
Maisonette style, bedroom and spa bath plus shower and loo downstairs, lounge and kitchenette upstairs.
Friendly and most accommodating hostess.
Our own back yard with gate to path leading to Lake.........alas weather wasnt great.
View to lake lovely
Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Great place to stay, would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClioPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I thank the people who wrote the good reviews that prompted me to book one night at this hotel. It was everything & more than we expected.!! The bedroom was downstairs & the kitchenette/sitting room was upstairs so that it looked over the lake. A great idea. Not only was there a spa bath but a small jug of lavender oil to add to the water. Just the job when you have been travelling. A pity the weather wasn't better so we could have sat out in your own little garden. Anyone like me who needs a bit of personal space would love this.The reception staff went out of their way to help us with finding places & choosing routes. It was so comfortable I was reluctant to leave & wished we had booked another night!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing