We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money was poor and the whole experience was disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money was poor and the whole experience was disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I thought the unit was tired and grubby especially when I had to wash the wine glasses before using them. Most units had no smoking this one did not. The down pipe was not connected to the guttering. The back door had previously been subject of a poor lock and only just fitted. I would certainly not recommend this motel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Han00fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    51
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
44
61
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Last time i stayed there the rooms were a little tired but they were going through a refurbishing programme. That seems to have finished now so when we decided to stay there for a night on the way to Auckland, we were pleased with the effort that had gone in to the rooms. We got a room on the second floor and although its a bit of a hike with the suitcases, the view over the lake down towards the volcanoes is worth it. The rooms are quite comfortable and reasonably sized and priced, there is a little kitchen with enough stuff to do an overnight heat up in the microwave and make a coffee or tea. The spa bath is a good size and the whole bathroom area quite big. Close to our ever favourite "Jolly Good Fellows" restaurant, it is the perfect place for us to stay, quiet, affordable and comfortable. One final thing; Taupo can get quite chilly at nights, there is a good selection of bed covers to cater for any sleeping situation.

Room Tip: If you are struggling with heavy bags, dont go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have stayed at Twin Peaks Lakeside Taupo previously and while the place has always been a bit tired this time it surpassed it's self. The attraction for me at Twin Peaks is it's close proximity to Taupo town, the Lake and the on-site Bar and Restaurant. A great selection of beers and good food/service available.

We managed to get a room i.e. 1 x double bed, at $140 for the night, and while surprised at the high price we were told that it had a new bed - a real plus after some sleepless nights on this trip. Happily the bed was good the room was clean with fresh towels and linen.

Unfortunately the unit was tiny and generally run down with wall and ceiling cracks/water damage in the bathroom. Two of us moving around in the room was an exercise in cooperation. The lack of a power outlet in the bathroom was a pain as was the exceptionally poor lighting throughout the unit. And to top it off there was no kitchen sink (you had to use the bathroom basin) although there were kitchen utensils and a jug - which couldn't fit in the basin without performing a conjuring act. The shower box had flaking paint on the floor with mould on the walls. Last but not least there were two soap dispensers in the bathroom, one above the basin and the other in the shower. The only labelling was 'hair/body' there was no indication of ingredients we didn't feel comfortable using this at all.

All in all a very poor set up. The unit is well passed it's best and needs to be completely redesigned. A complete rip off at $140.00 per night. I felt embarrassed that this accommodation was being offered in New Zealand.

The good news is that when discussing this with the manager next morning (we left a complete written list with him) he offered a substantial discount and genuinely apologised for the situation. He handled a difficult situation very professionally.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 384john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Comfortable and affordable. Really good location with several eating places within short walking distance. Plenty of room options, including wheelchair units. Clean & tidy. We were downstairs and found there was very little noise from other units.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V1k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Coming up from my Home City of Nelson in the South Island to deliver a vehicle to my daughter the Cook Strait Ferry was 3 hrs late and Desert Road was a blizzard! So my ETA of 1800 hrs was now 2150 and the Motel Manager was waiting and very helpful.The room basic but very clean and the heater worked! From a sign in my unit these units are privately owned as mine was for sale so can only comment on my unit which was fine. The Jolly Rogers pub is on site and we ate here next night see my other review.The pub obviously a favourite with locals for a quick drink after work especially Fridays.But closes by 10 pm (well in winter anyhow) so isn't a noise issue. For the dollars its fine!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a view of the mountains or Lake so just ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boardboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful view from the top floor...this is the only positive thing I can say. Upon arrival check-in was tediously long. The front of the room was all glass with net curtains whilst the side windows had no nets, so once curtains were pulled we had office workers looking straight into our room, hence to fix this problem we had to have curtains drawn all day. The room itself was extremely tired and dated. Couches were pull out beds which had seen better days and now very uncomfortable to sit on. We had booked this room for two nights,, apron arrival was given a small 300ml of milk, we asked for a another bottle the following day but was told we had to pay for it.....couldn't believe it seeings we paid the same price for each night and yet cleaners turned up just to change towels (no new bed linen).
Further down the road a much nicer place was offering a lot cheaper AND breakfast included.
I would advise to look around, you can do a lot better

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

First off, we did have a good view of the lake, our room was right at the front, next to the Reception office. However, everyone else outside had a good view of us as there were no net curtains to afford any privacy in the day. The area outside the room was just a wasteland, you really wouldn't want to sit there. The room was a little worn with older style furnishing; it felt cold and not welcoming and the glass door to the entrance was no help. The outside light shone in my face all night. It would be better to have a proper door. Anyway, I'll say one thing, the shower was VERY powerful! I let out a little scream when I stood under it. It was a shower alright! Looking at other places in that area, I'd say you could do worse than stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priss58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.5 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#47 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#38 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn

Property: Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Address: 76-80 Lake Terrace P.O. Box 812, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Twin Peaks we offer affordable lakeside accommodation. Enjoy superb views across the lake to the mountains. We are perfectly located, adjacent to the snow fed waters of New Zealand's largest crater lake. A 5 minute stroll will take you to Taupo's shopping centre, cafes and restaurants or the activities of the boat harbour.For accommodation, we have 36 units consisting of studio, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom units, all with 32” Flat screen TV in each unit. 100mb Free Wi-Fi on arrival. Very popular Bar and Restaurant on site. 10 minutes’ walk to town.1 3-bedroom and 1 2-bedroom apartment, 10 1-bedroom suites, 4 family units, 20 studio units. A choice of kitchen or kitchenette facilities in one bedroom units. Studio units with king size beds also have kitchen facilities and the other studio units, have only tea and coffee making facilities, toasters and most with microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing