We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceelent value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked in here after a tip off that a new manager had smartened things up! The tips were correct. Lovely clean rooms, friendly service and location is excellent. Close to town and with a restaurant/bar on site it suited our needs perfectly. The new room we stayed in was fresh and even had plunger coffee. The older rooms have views of the lake but as we were only in the room at night, this didn't matter much to us. When the TV was fiddly to turn on, the manager herself came and showed us how to work it. Wifi only $10 for the stay so good value there too. My sister stayed with us and she said when she pulled in she remembered arriving once before to a run down and frankly sub standard motel. This has changed. She said it was a huge improvement and certainly good value.

Room Tip: If you don't mind no view, the new rooms at the back are nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had stayed at Twin Peaks overnight on our way to skiing, with 45 people in Mid July 2011. To our surprises, at Twin Peaks they not only offered spectacular view of the mountains and lake Taupo, but also lovely service to every detail with flexibility of any changes, and very clean rooms!

Thank you for everything, look forward to visit again!

WeiHeng Zhu

Room Tip: Ask their staff for best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeiHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Very very disappointed with the amenities in Room 808, dirty, smelly, cups dirty, net curtains filthy, shower curtain disgusting, furnishings very inferior and old and in need of a paint brush. Very basic - more like back-packers accommodation rather than a motel in a superb location on the lake front.
Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegs002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Helpful friendly staff, rooms were beautiful, clean and modern. Fantastic view of Lake Taupo. wonderful Restaurant and bar. Walking distance to the main CBD. Will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baxylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights last weekend in one of the units in the new block. The new block is obviously really nice compared to the older part of the motel but there is no view as it is behind the old block.

So if you want a really nice room stay in the new block, but if you want a really nice view of the lake stay upstairs in the older part.

Previous reviewers complained about the traffic noise, yes the trucks did go past all night, that has now gone as most traffic and trucks now use the newly opened bypass road, behind the township.

As we were in the new units we only had 1 problem PARKING. There is only enough parks for 1 car per unit and it appeared several people had 2 so parking although unit numbered it was a bit of a hassle to get a park.
Parking was made more difficult because there is a bar / restaurant on site but seperate.
They do room service delivery of their restaurant menu which we did use once and found it to be very nice food.

There are also many nice restaurants 1 km in Taupo

I will stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The previous reviews are far too harsh for this place. It is simple, but it is a motel! The location cannot be beat, the lake is across the road and, unlike much other similar accommodation in Taupo, is a true walk to Taupo centre. Our room, 21, had a fantastic view and was clean and included free wifi. It was a cool stay.i

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Thank goodness we only booked one night here.
I must admit the lady that checked us in was really nice but from then on it all went down hill.
After settling in we found the dishes in the kitchenette to be dirty, the spa bath (which didn't work) hadn't been cleaned properly and I had to wipe it out before bathing my child. There were clothes that had obviously been left behind by previous guest left behind the couch as well as dip in the freezer. They had failed to leave us with towels so I had to go to reception to be given some ratty towels they had, which they normally give out for the spa bath.
The basin in the bathroom had a used cake of soap stuck to the side of it and they hadn't replenished the shampoo's etc.
There was no hairdryer in the room, which the Jason accommodation book stated all rooms had.
The high chair they provided was broken which made feeding a 9 month old interesting.
The staircase outside our room leading to the upstairs rooms moved and rattled every time someone went up or down. The lights out side were that bright of a night it made it very hard to sleep.
When we checked out I mentioned all these issues to a different lady at reception and all she had to say was, “Oh I’m sorry about that, we are busy and the cleaners must of missed your room, all the rooms are privately owned so they all have different supplies.”
To top it all off I realised a couple of hours later I had left something behind so I called reception to be told there was nothing left behind and the cleaners had gone through with a thorough search.
I wonder if they found the clothes behind the couch!!!!
Would have to be the worst place I have ever stayed at in the whole world.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happiedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.3 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#33 of 68 in Taupo
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn

Address: 76-80 Lake Terrace P.O. Box 812, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Twin Peaks we offer affordable lakeside accommodation. Enjoy superb views across the lake to the mountains. We are perfectly located, adjacent to the snow fed waters of New Zealand's largest crater lake. A 5 minute stroll will take you to Taupo's shopping centre, cafes and restaurants or the activities of the boat harbour.For accommodation, we have 36 units consisting of studio, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom units, all with 32” Flat screen TV in each unit. 100mb Free Wi-Fi on arrival. Very popular Bar and Restaurant on site. 10 minutes’ walk to town.1 3-bedroom and 1 2-bedroom apartment, 10 1-bedroom suites, 4 family units, 20 studio units. A choice of kitchen or kitchenette facilities in one bedroom units. Studio units with king size beds also have kitchen facilities and the other studio units, have only tea and coffee making facilities, toasters and most with microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing