We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food.”

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #15 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving, Lunch and Dinner you'll soon discover Waterside's reputation for great casual dining and fantastic meals to meet everybody's needs.Take in the stunning views of the lake and mountains while you enjoy being looked after by our friendly staff, try one of our creative cocktails or speciality coffees. Fantastic outdoor dining in summer, and a fireplace to keep you warm in the winter.Enjoy!!
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing Food.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My boyfriend and i went here on the 24/8 as it was one of the only places not playing the rugby and we weren't really in the mood for rugby.

We were a little nervous because the main dishes were between 20-40 new zealand dollars for the main. But by golly was it worth it. The eye fillet steak was delicious and the sauce that accompanied it was to die for, the fish and chips were cooked to perfection.

It had a lovely view and the service was wonderful, fast service even though there were quite a few people in the restaurant. Nice atmosphere and will visit many times again i'm sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_adams_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    147
    61
    27
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the Lamb Rump Dish”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the best lamb rump dish I have ever had. Master Chef quality... the lamb just melted in my mouth...yummy. Great service too. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, food good but a little pricey.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The location if this restaurant is excellent, right on the water front. We were welcomed immediately as we walked through the door. The menu had a nice selection on it. I felt it was a little cheeky of them to charge extras for vegetables with dishes.
When my steak arrived it wasn't really that hot as was the mashed potato like it had been standing around waiting for other dishes to cook. When I told the waitress she immediately apologised and offered a free coffee or desert to me, which I thought was really nice.
Not a bad experience and we will be back again next time we are in taupo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markyboi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent night”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

From the minute you walked in the door the staff greeted us with a lovely warm welcome. Our meals were delicious and good value for money. A creative menu is offered, just that bit different which was great. Will definitely be back on our next visit to Taupo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warmly welcomed when we walked in off the street.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble. Delightful waitress who was very patient. Food was delicious. We all loved the meals we chose and there was plenty of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing