We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What.A.Digrace!”

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 141 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving, Lunch and Dinner you'll soon discover Waterside's reputation for great casual dining and fantastic meals to meet everybody's needs.Take in the stunning views of the lake and mountains while you enjoy being looked after by our friendly staff, try one of our creative cocktails or speciality coffees. Fantastic outdoor dining in summer, and a fireplace to keep you warm in the winter.Enjoy!!
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Where do I start.... the staff were rude, the food was terrible & if becoming a fossil is your thing then go here cos the wait you'll experience for food is outrageous!

The owner must be so proud to say he owns such an establishment.

Please do yourself a favour and avoid this horrible little hovel like the plague!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersideTaupo, Owner at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Wow, Nasty . This is obviously a personal stab at the establishment as there is no constructive criticism. It's reviews like yours that damage any credibility of a site like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 440 of 508 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pricey but we figured that paid for the sunset mountain view. Food ok, presented well but what I would call good pub quality. I had the artichoke salad - something I love & would never make myself - salad ok, artichokes seemed to have been crumbed & deep fried so lost their lovely flavour & texture. Service ok.

Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We enjoyed a very good lunch at the Waterside Restaurant and Bar. Sit outside and enjoy the great view of Lake Taupo. There are active steam vents visible coming from the mountains across the lake to the south.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersideTaupo, Owner at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Waterside Restaurant. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you again. Our summer's been great so it's really nice that we can sit outdoors and enjoy it.
Cheers Stu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Anything with dressing not great. Tiger prawn salad inedible due to awful dressing. Been here several times overs years and quality dropped to all time low..shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Catjclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersideTaupo, Owner at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Waterside Restaurant and Bar. We have since changed the dressing back to the original reciepe , Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Cheers Stu McClellan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After a long day of volunteering for Iron man, myself and 5 family members decided to go out for dinner at waterside,
Once we all ordered there was roughly a 40 minute wait for our meals to come out, which was fine as we understood it was busy, but on arrival of our meals all bar one came out.. we waited 5-10 minutes until we approached a waitress an inquired about the meal, she then went into kitchen and realized she hadn't ordered it, there was no apology all that was said was that it will be out soon and walked off.
10 minutes later the meal arrived (everyone had nearly finished there meals at this stage) and once again no apology.
When one of our group went to pay he inquired that there should have been no charge for the meal due to the lateness of it, the manager/owner then came over at this point and told him he was rude to even suggest that he shouldn't pay, after discussions with the manager/owner over this 5 minutes later he angrily took the meal of the till and didn't charge for it,
At no point throughout their conversation was the member of our group rude towards the Manager/owner but as he walked away the manager had the decency to mumble "Get F###ed"

After paying he then came over to clear our table and continued to be arrogant towards the group causing another confrontational scene in front of the rest of the restaurant.

This behavior is absolutely disgusting and its something that could have been simply fixed by an apology instead hes lost out on a larger customer base then he thinks !

Food was average might I add...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kgb497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatersideTaupo, Owner at Waterside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks for your time in reviewing Waterside Restaurant and Bar, your comments help make Waterside a better place.
Cheers Stu McClellan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing