We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation dinner for 2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brantry

The Brantry
Ranked #4 of 134 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Brantry is located in a 1950's town house tastefully renovated to create a special ambience for any dining occasion. The low ceilings, large open fire and timeless decor gives a sense of style that owners Prue and Felicity are proud of. The food is described as contemporary New Zealand cuisine. Proud New Zealander Prue believes there is a wealth of food options here on our doorstep. The menu is updated seasonally to access all the freshest produce. The Brantry is a perfect venue for weddings we can organise everything from name tags to flowers.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Vacation dinner for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little restaurant, creative dishes with local food, great wait staff, nice and varied wine list of mostly NZ wine, very rational prices for ala carte, 2 or 3 courses. Must do if you are in Taupo. Kinnaman's of Savannah.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnKinnaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    122
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Taupo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Food good served by lovely efficient staff. Friendly and welcoming. Weird space with its low ceiling and heavy furniture but this is made up for by its appealing menu and small but well priced wine list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Quaint....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Brantry is a repurposed house a couple of blocks from the main strip or Taupo. We were attracted by the #1 rating on TA and decided to check it out. The service was warm and friendly and our server had a reasonable grasp of the menu. There are 2 or 3 course menu options with 3-4 options for each course. We chose the 2 course with steak and fish mains and a local chardonnay from the small but well focused wine list. The quality of the food was good, although a step down from better restaurants in Auckland. This restaurant is about robust food from local producers and is well worth a visit, just don't expect a 5 star experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault our night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were a party of 4. Everyone enjoyed their meals and we all said it was the best food we'd had in Taupo. Service was excellent, food stunning. A perfect night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleGallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing to Write Home About.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Maybe we just went on an 'off' night or maybe I just ordered all the wrong things but neither my starter nor main were great.
I ordered the Spinach & Ricotta Pansotti with Seared Scallops for starter and whilst the 2 scallops were nice the pansotti resembled what I can imagine plasticine to taste like....slightly rubbery and bland.
The Eye Fillet of Beef for main came out well done as opposed to medium rare and the blue cheese cigar was like a deep fried soggy spring roll......
On the plus side my partner had the smoked fish croquette and Fish of the Day (Salmon) which he thoroughly enjoyed and we shared the dessert of Chai Spiced Cheesecake tart which was delicious.
Overall, I would not rate this No.1 in Taupo, we had a much more enjoyable meal at The Vine and the restaurant was definitely lacking atmosphere, a lick of paint and a spruce up of the decor wouldn’t go amiss.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SammiM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BranTPO, Public Relations Manager at The Brantry, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are obviously disappointed that you did not enjoy part of your meal & experience at The Brantry. We pride ourselves in presenting fresh flavoursome food with good service. Your concerns have been raised with the staff - however we prefer that the issues are brought to the staff's attention on the night so remedial action can be taken. We appreciate that atmosphere and ambience are important in a restaurant and feel the placement of the original New Zealand art and subdued lighting go some way to achieving this .We also have an on going programme to enhance the décor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brantry also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to The Brantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing