We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit”
Review of The Brantry

The Brantry
Ranked #5 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Brantry is located in a 1950's town house tastefully renovated to create a special ambience for any dining occasion. The low ceilings, large open fire and timeless decor gives a sense of style that owners Prue and Felicity are proud of. The food is described as contemporary New Zealand cuisine. Proud New Zealander Prue believes there is a wealth of food options here on our doorstep. The menu is updated seasonally to access all the freshest produce. The Brantry is a perfect venue for weddings we can organise everything from name tags to flowers.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Recommeded to us as most consistant and quality restaurant in Taupo. It was a fabulous night. We were group of 4. Service, Menu, Food, Wine, Atmosphere first class. Definately going back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    130
    28
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a good wine list”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We made a booking at The Brantry in view of an earlier post and indeed their brochure says booking is essential but when we arrived there were quite a lot of diners but few on the reservation list.

Anyway, the menu is a fixed price for either 2 or 3 courses. We started with the salt and pepper squid perfectly cooked and delicately flavoured on a bed of chorizo. Then we had steaks I like mine cooked blue and it just melted in my mouth. If a blue steak does that they have a top class supplier it came with a base of beetroot and peas we added a dish of gourmet roast potatoes. The Martinborough Te Tera Pinot Noir was the perfect accompaniment. I think the price of NZ$ 157 for the quality of food and wine represents good value.

Helpful?
Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Brantry was the convenient choice for us as we stayed in the Beeches Motel. The food, service and wine were all very good. We were only surprised by the building. It was a domestic home converted into a restaurant so you feel like you are eating in someone’s living room or conservatory! It didn’t effect our enjoyment of the food but just not what we expected.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank corky617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“best in taupo”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we called in for a meal and was welcomed in. service was wonderful and meals superb. our entree and meal arrived in good time and my gluten free needs were well catered for. our waitress was a real sweetie, thank you to the bantry

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very good service and food. The waitress was friendly and did not hurry us. The food was good. Good portions not too big not too small. Lovely staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brantry also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to The Brantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing