We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor coffee”

Replete Cafe & Store
Ranked #1 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor coffee”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Have visited replete over the years so bad coffee could just be the person making it on the day. Sadly having returned first cup they did make a reasonable replacement. So went for a follow up. And same problem as first cup. Hence this review.


Food here is good but coffee (today) was bad

Maybe next time or maybe I will try elsewhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hey345k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    138
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Usually good....but”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We always stop at Replete on our way through Taupo and they are always busy, the food is good and so is the coffee. The exception to this was yesterday Monday 28th (Ann Day). We had just time for our usual good coffee before having to head away again. It was disappointing to see that Replete along with other food places around the country have not got over the need to hit customers with the Public holiday surcharge. Once we had got over that we ordered our coffee and for the first time it was actually average, perhaps not bad enough to send it back on a normal day, but with the surcharged price it should have. We will be back to Replete, but the point is that when you are charging additional for coffee because of the holidays, both staff and management must be satisfied that their costs are covered. All that remains is for the customer to be satisfied, and a liittle bit of extra effort may be required.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjarne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Coffee and Good Food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Replete Cafe is on the repeat dial and while it may sometimes feel like a Groundhog Day moment it is always enjoyable to return, always breakfast and always very good. It must be the happy chickens that make the eggs taste so good! and if you have a moment one can pop around to the kitchen accessories section and see what's new and availableto buy in the lastest cuisine gadgetry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiatiFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fantastic for brunch or coffee or those hard to find deli items. The staff are unfailingly helpful, about options and food specialities. No searching cabinets for the single gluten free option. Plenty of outdoor seating and a good vibe. Been going here for years and it never fails, even for takeaway salads to eat in the car with the family.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Very Good Cafe combined with a wonderful kitchenware shop”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have eaten here several times and it is always nice. Not for a little while those so can't tell you exactly what to eat. I always end up buying a gadget from the kitchenware shop attached or some foodie gift item

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Replete Cafe & Store also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Replete Cafe & Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing