We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pimentos - CLOSED

Pimentos
Cuisines: New Zealand, Mediterranean, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We visited for dinner n a Friday night. The place was not too busy. Freindly welcome and attentive staff. Dishes were the right size and food tasty, but nothing too adventurous. Well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lotuseaters42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An indifferent meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We were disappointed by this place, one of the poorest we have visited in a fortnight. The staff were a bit clueless. Food was adequate, not good, wish we had chosen another place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
270 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed with friends in Taupo and this is the restaurant that they frequent. We now know why. It's a little bistro type restaurant where you can bring your own wine. Costs $5 per bottle. The food choice was not extensive but diverse. We each had an appetizer, and a main meal. Everyone at the table raved about what they ate. Casual but elegant. Service was friendly and attentive. When in Taupo, Bon Appetit:)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbound44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stopping over in Taupo for one evening our guide books recommended this restaurant and rightly so. The service was wonderful and the food was top notch, some of the best lamb we have tasted in New Zealand.

Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple local set up, ok food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We popped in for dinner on a Saturday night after our Hotel reccomended it as a fine dining experience. Fine dining it was not but the food was fine and the service good. The chef was very accommodating with my boyfriend who needed a low cholestetol meal and served some lovely fish fillets with a big salad. I had lamb shanks which were cooked well but when combined with the honey soy sayse and sweet potato was just a little on the sickly side.
The decor is more cafe than restaurant and the wine list needs a little more breadth.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TabHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pimentos also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing