We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mole & Chicken

Mole & Chicken
Ranked #22 of 134 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
643 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was recommended to us by the hostess at our B&B. The place is very friendly and welcoming and serves some really good relatively inexpensive food. Quite casual, but provided a gastro-pub experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    58
    16
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Te Horo, New Zealand
1 review
“Great little evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Menu offers good choice, the food was very good, staff were excellent - friendly without being intrusive. Restaurant is away from the city centre in a quiet neighbourhood with no traffic noise. A lovely place to go for a meal, a just super outdoors on the deck in summer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food in this local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was told that the Mole & Chicken served the best fish and chips in Taupo - well I haven't tried any anywhere else so I can't comment - but I can tell you that the fish and chips here are great! As is the pork belly that I had on my second visit!
This is a lively but relaxed place to eat and drink away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy end of town. If you are visiting Taupo take a stroll to here and you will be rewarded by really good food and a wide selection of wines. Treat yourself!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank soosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A gourmet delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We called in for a beer as we passed and having discussed the state of both UK and NZ rugby with the owner Cliiff we booked a table for the evening.we were pleased we did as not only is the beer served in pint glasses the meal was superb.

Quite a busy restaurant bur we weren't kept waiting and our waiter Joshua was attentive and kept us up to date with the progress of the meal. He did forget my beer refill though!!

We started with the calamari which came both hot and well cooked and followed with the fish of the day - snapper straight from the Coromandel peninsular and served up with garlic mash and a great sauce and my wife had the risotto which was too much and she had to leave some. Well presented and again hot and very tasty to a point where I had to visit the kitchen to compliment the chef.

A good meal, not too expensive and a good ambience and service. We recommend youvisit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cliff and his team welcomed us at the door and the great service and wonderful food continued from entree to dessert. Real friendly atmosphere yet privacy when you required it. Great place in a surburban location plenty of parking. Give this place a go you will not be disappointed, a real gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelmswood M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mole & Chicken also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Mole & Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing