We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably won't visit again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Brown's

Dixie Brown's
Ranked #10 of 134 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably won't visit again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ate at Dixie Browns over Easter weekend so obviously busy, staff were quite friendly and helpful and the place had a good atmosphere. We had to wait for an hour for our food which is maybe understandable being Easter but we wish we had been told as we had hungry children with us.
When the meals did arrive the kids meals were great, good value for money and a good portion size, sadly the same couldn't be said for the adult meals, not bad but not good just ho hum. When I go out I like to have really enjoyed my meal as we don't go out that much, therefore I probably won't visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Dixie Browns of Taupo.
It is great to read your children really enjoyed their meals. As you say yourself Easter Weekend is a very busy time for business in Taupo and we were no exception.
As all our meals are cooked fresh to order it can take time on very busy days, and our team here usually do let customers know the approximate wait time for meals, if you were not informed of this we are sorry.
As you will see from our reviews our menu choice and meals produced are very popular, perhaps you will pop in again and let us change your mind.
Again thank you for your review.
Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    514
    199
    96
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not up to the usual standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ate there on March 6 this year and the breakfast meal was ho hum. Disapointing really as the food is usually very tasty, but on this occasion was a tad greasy and the sausages smelt strongly, so were perhaps either heavily spiced or had gone off.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Dixie Browns of Taupo.
How dissapointing to read you felt we did not achieve our usual standard on your last visit. Had you let your wait staff know you were less than happy with your meal I am sure they would have been only to pleased to rectify the situation.
Our turnover of stock here is I can assure you very quick and very carefully monitored.
We look forward to seeing you again and a return to our usual performance .
Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dessert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went here for dessert and cocktails - both were great! I had chocolate mud cake. Very rich, but nice and moist with delicious sauce.
Cocktails were also great. I'd definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taylor_elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Dixie Browns of Taupo.
We are so happy to read you loved your desserts, we cartainly have great fun keeping the revolving dessert stand stocked with delicious treats. Next time you are in try the Baileys Triple Choc Cheesecake!
Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great service, good food and amazing milkshakes ( we would recommend the caramel fudge and banana choc). Good value in a great location with lovely staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank p0rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Dixie Browns of Taupo.
We are delighted to read you enjoyed your visit so much and we do really appreciate the lovely comments.
We hope to see you here next time you are in our beautiful Taupo.
Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dining with sophistication”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We first went here because of the free wifi. We went back because of the food and ambience. Spacious and clean, the private booths are family friendly while retaining a sophistication for those special events. The food was good and prices were reasonable.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent visits to Dixie Browns of Taupo.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your first visit so much you came back again. We have a great team who really appreciate getting recognised for their hard work and service.

We look forward to seeing you again when next you are in the beautiful Lake Taupo region.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Brown's also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Dixie Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing