We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cafe on the Lakefront”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dixie Brown's

Dixie Brown's
Ranked #10 of 134 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Cafe on the Lakefront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have been going to Taupo over the Christmas break for many many years and I have never been to Dixie Browns as it was a dingy dark nondescript place.

However it has been toatally refirbushed to a very high standard and has a very impressive menu. The revolving cabinet with stunning desserts was very tempting. The location is stunning with views out to the lake but not right on the roadfront therefore you can relax at the outdoors tables without having traffice fumes and noise spoling your meals. They even provide blankets to wrap around when it gets cold, a nice touch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngeNZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Dixie Browns of Taupo.

We are very pleased with our recent refurbishments and our revised menu and it is always great to get such positive feedback. The blankets for our outside diners are very popular for those wishing to make the most of the summer evenings, we also have air conditioning inside and two new open fires, we are ready for all that the Taupo weather can throw at us now.

Did you know that all those tempting desserts are freshly made right here on the premises and you are right, they are very hard to pass!

Now that you have visited us once, we do hope to see you again and again.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    531
    205
    98
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We ate here on our 1 night in Taupo, they have very generous portions, the food was lovely. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank austrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello

Thank you for chosing Dixie Browns of Taupo for your evening meal. It is great to read your meals were so enjoyable and that you would be happy to recommend us to other visitors.

We have put a lot of thought and time into our menus and our team here work very hard to porvide the best possible experience to our diners so it makes our day when we get feedback like yours.

If you get the chance to return to our beautiful Taupo one day we do hope you make a return visit to Dixie Browns as well.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

good service, good value. Menu is great and all day value meals are greatly appreciated. Try their scones!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Dixie Browns.

We are delighted to read you found both the service and the menu so satisfying. With our expansive menu and regular specials we feel there is always something new and exciting to try and yes the scones are very popular, especially with me!

We do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you here again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very busy restaurant when we visited. Fabulous food but we did have to sit in a draught from the door until we asked to move tables.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Dixie Browns of Taupo.

We are very pleased to read your meals were so enjoyable, our new menu is proving very popular and we are delighted to say it is bringing people back again and again.

Thank you for letting our team know you wished to move tables. Some times guests want the fresh air circulating and some want a more cosy spot, we are lucky enough to be able to offer both, indeed for those who want to make the most of the summer evenings and dine outside we have blankets to keep you snug when the sun goes down.

We do hope to see you here again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Went to Dixie's for the 3rd time, this time to try breakfast. We chose one of the $9.90 specials (eggs, toast, sausages and hash brown) and it was substantial and delicious. Superb value and the restaurant and service is fantastic. We plan to re-visit to try some if Dixie's gorgeous deserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAnn_3_7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTaupo, Public Relations Manager at Dixie Brown's, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Dixie Browns for breakfast. Our new breakfast menu is proving very popular with an option for everyone, from the egg white omelette for the healt conscious to my new favourite the corncake stack!

Did you know that everyone of our delicious deserts, muffins and slices are made right here on the premises? The hardest thing is choosing which one.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Martina Stephen
Dixie Browns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Brown's also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Dixie Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing