We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai!”

Lotus Thai Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Thai!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a family dinner here in the summer. The restaurant is very well decorated and the service is very relaxing and friendly. The staff are dressed in Thai dresses which adds to the atmosphere.

The food was very good too. One of the best but not the best! We had Panang Curry, Pad Thai, Red Curry and the fish. All very nice and thoroughly enjoyed.

The food goes very nicely with the atmosphere and you feel like you had a very authentic Thai experience. Well done guys!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrahamNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    85
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai I have ever tasted.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Graham and I often travel all the way from Rotorua to Taupo to have meals at the Lotus Thai. The food is utterly amazing, especially the fish dishes. Graham has a whole fish and I usually have mixed seafood. We always have the combination entres that's about four different entres at the start as a grouping. They always taste incredible. We visited Thailand and no restaurant came close to the meals here.
Its reasonably priced and the Taupo locals go there in droves so you know its good. The staff are friendly and nice and you get hot towels to wipe you face afterwards.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetkeenartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dining”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Food is well presented and tasty - Thai food at its best. Staff are very polite and obliging - an authentic Thai experience - Allowed to bring your own wine

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our selection of Thai food. All cooked to perfection. A nice quiet atmosphere with authentic, quality, Thai furnishings. Gracious staff and impeccable service. Would definitely return when in Taupo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok but...”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Been here before and was very impressed the last time but didn't rate. This time the main portion sizes seemed smaller. Also the waiters kept standing around looking at us it felt a little intimidating. Food is very nice, service is quick, staff are friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ironmaidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Thai Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Lotus Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing