We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick dinner stop”

Lotus Thai Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hastings NZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quick dinner stop”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

we chose this restaurant instead of takeaways and were very pleased with the friendly efficient service,good food and pleasant surroundings, we hadn't booked and enjoyed our meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    87
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Decent Thai restaurant with good service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have been to this place a few times over the years and it is still good, though we felt it has gone a little off the boil since last time we were here.

As others have said portions are not huge, indeed half of the plate is taken up with the cabbage and carrot embellishment, but this does not detract from the decent fare that they serve up here. We did think the sauce a little too sweet though and think they should hold off the sugar and it is unnecessary. For these things and the chicken cut mentioned below, I am marking them down a little. Otherwise they are worthy of 4 stars.

We were lucky to get a table as we had not booked, though we had tried but no answer to the phone at 7pm! It was very busy...but service was still good and they took time to show my friend how to fold and make their fancy serviette, which was a nice touch given how busy they were!

I had the spicy beef and friends had the stir fried chicken and we had some sticky rice for our friends to try as well as basmati. All were good.

They allow BYO and charge $5 for this.

We did not like that they had crudely chopped the chicken (including bones and wings and all), in my husband's Massaman Curry but that this was not mentioned in menu or at time of booking. This was not to our, nor to most people's liking. One can expect this when eating in Asia but not I think in Taupo. This put him off a bit - but he did comment on the size of this dish, this was huge and could have fed the whole table - and the sauce - which was good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minkamonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Four of us ate here. The greeting and service were welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The orders were taken promptly, and the food arrived very quickly. The duck was well cooked and delicious, and the scallops were a very generous helping, and also delicious. Our overall experience was very pleasant and we would be happy to eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I put family friendly as my title as the place was full of families with children, some under control some not! The food was standard Thai, nothing special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidsyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unless you want corn in everything dont eat here”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thought this restaurant distinctly average. The spring rolls were the only good part, everything else as a bit of a "raise your eyebrows; this is interesting". I eat thai food all the time and I have to say this was one of the most ordinary thai meals Iv ever had... We ordered 3 mains - the sweat and sour fish dish (which was aweful) and 2 other random ones. All of them had excess amounts of baby corn in them?

Anyway, I wont rant on too much, so in a nut shell, dont eat here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank B1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Thai Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Lotus Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing