We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food but disappointed with price and service”

Edgewater Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 135 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $36
Cuisines: New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food but disappointed with price and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed the food but it was not comparible to other places we visited. Tasted good but rather small helpings and desert was nothing special. Staff were disappointing with experienced staff giving younger staff members directions and telling offs in front of diners. Was wanting a special night out but was a little disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robnwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    35
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nothing to dislike. Set right beside the Lake, the service and the food was top quality. The steak was the best I have had for a very long time. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality dining with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

An innovative menu for a hotel restaurant. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. The koura and prawn entree was delicate and tasty. I rate the duck dish highly - crispy skin with meat falling off the bone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went here for a birthday dinner during a short break in Taupo and highly recommend it. The food was just beautiful and the service very attentive. It has stunning views of the lake and lovely decor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbird77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Not too happy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I asked for my lamb medium , it came out looking rarer than my partners medium rare steak. I ended up eating his steak which was much nicer!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgewater Restaurant also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Edgewater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing