We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at a great price”
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service at a great price”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We turned up late, with no booking, trying to find somewhere to stay after a day on the snow, with two very tired children and stressed out parents. What we found was excellent customer service and a beautiful clean room, excellent views and comfortable beds (not that it mattered, we would have slept on the floor by this stage!). We will return to this hotel on our next visit to Taupo.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    53
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
59
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Room was great, good location, clean and good facilities, friendly welcome on arrival. Only downside was the free wireless internet which we couldn't get working on any of our three devices (both Apple and Android). When we raised this at checkout got a shrug of the shoulders and an "Oh well..." pretty disappointing attitude. One of my pet peeves is hotels that advertise free internet which then is extremely slow or doesn't work at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MikeyB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

a bright newly refurbished building - quiet. warm & well appointed - 1 bed room reprented good value & nice massive spa was mint. warm welcome greeting on arrival & service was top notch would stay here again suited our purpose perfect

Room Tip: 1 bed room units are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great family time very clean and comfortable stay ..........believe me had a luxury linen and bed very difficult to wake up morning enjoyed my stay with all good facilities . Very friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nazreen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

a beautifully presented and maintained property, immaculately clean with tasteful furnishings. The upstairs studio was comfortable and spacious with gorgeous lake and mountain views. Loved everything about it.

Room Tip: upstairs facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tevoleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were so impressed with the welcome and helpful approach at The Ascot Motor Inn, we stayed there on the way back as well. Beautifully clean apartment with all facilities provided and such a friendly reception!

Room Tip: One of few places to accommodate a couple with three (nearly adult) children without hideously uncom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at ascot inn, the unit was clean, spacious and comfortable..The bathroom was beautiful, the weather was cold but we have heaters in the unit and the view on the snowy mountains was gorgeous.. I would recommend this motel to everybody..
Sandra is a lovely woman and very helpful.. We will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#15 of 69 in Taupo
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
1.4 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#34 of 69 in Taupo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Property: Ascot Motor Inn
Address: 70 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascot Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious modern motel complex is situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We offer 15 Large Cosy, warm units to suit all requirements - Corporate personnel welcome! Choices available - 2 Bedroom Apartment type family units. 1 Bedroom Executive units Queen Studio Spa Bath units, Standard Queen Studio units, plus lovely accessible Queen Studios. Some Units have additional Beds - all have very cosy bedding including electric blankets for the cooler Taupo nights. Enjoy mountain and lake vistas or relax in a private courtyard. Free on site parking 51+ Guest Select SKY TV & FREE WIFI to all units Stay 9 Nights at an ASURE Property & get $100.00 off your 10th Night Come & Enjoy a Stay at ASURE Ascot Motor Inn - Taupo 'Hospitality at its best' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing