We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly service”
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Owners went out of their way to assist us with finding an additional carpark at the motel for the 2 cars we arrived in, and gave us discount vouchers and excellent suggestions on places to visit in Taupo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellison70, Owner at Ascot Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Fabulous to hear that you enjoyed - thank you for your review - much appreciated
Regards
G & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Travelling from Auckland to Masterton, we stopped for one of our party to bungee jump

Although only overnight, 2 bedroom apartment was excellent

Not far from lake and town facilities, small market across road for the necessities

Would recommend, wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: This 2 bedroom apartment had a double, 2 singles and a sofa bed in lounge area. We were on front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellison70, Owner at Ascot Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hello - we greatly appreciate your comments.
It seems you may have been on Corporate business - we know how it is when you are away on a regular basis so we are striving to make our place like your place!
Please let us know how we can improve??
Regards & thank you for taking the time to review our property
G & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a midpoint stop up the island. Nicely renovated 2 bedroom unit. A TV in both rooms was a great convenience with the kids. Unfortunately we found the beds uncomfortable, and one ply toilet paper has no place in a motel of this standard.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank EscapingParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Well located Motel, far enough away from the busy part of town but close enough to take advantage of the restaurants etc around the lake. well maintained and well managed. Units are very comfortable with small kitchenette. Beds in the rooms are nice and comfortable. Would recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabieriverbushlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very friendly host that could just make your day. The host is also knowledgeable and very helpful in suggesting places of interest, activities and also places to find good food. The room is clean, spacious, spa in bathroom and commendable kitchen facility. Wouldn't think twice to come back in my next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The new owners are doing an impressive job here. We had a second floor unit. The kitchen was fully equipped. There were lots of electrical outlets throughout. The room was large.

It is located centrally on a busy street, so it is easy to get around from here.

Note that you only get 100 mbs free on WiFi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach30Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lovely room with spa bathroom, very comfortable and beautifully clean. We have stayed here before and would have no hesitation in recommending this motel to others. New owners were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glitzy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#22 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 68 in Taupo
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Address: 70 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $79 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascot Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious modern motel complex is situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We offer 15 Large Cosy, warm units to suit all requirements - Corporate personnel welcome! Choices available - 2 Bedroom Apartment type family units. 1 Bedroom Executive units Queen Studio Spa Bath units, Standard Queen Studio units, plus lovely accessible Queen Studios. Some Units have additional Beds - all have very cosy bedding including electric blankets for the cooler Taupo nights. Enjoy mountain and lake vistas or relax in a private courtyard. Free on site parking 51+ Guest Select SKY TV & FREE WIFI to all units Stay 9 Nights at an ASURE Property & get $100.00 off your 10th Night Come & Enjoy a Stay at ASURE Ascot Motor Inn - Taupo 'Hospitality at its best' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing