We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
123
63
8
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
63
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathsmall supermarketasure groupstandard studiodecent kitchenfantastic roomacross the roadone nightsky tvinto town for dinnerapartment was cleanfelt like homestay there againheat pumpwonderful stayview of the lakelast minute booking
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 196 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a little gem. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and obviously take pride in the presentation and cleanliness of their rooms. We had a standard studio (so one of the cheapest rooms) It was spacious and had a good view of the mountains. One tip - ask the hosts for dining suggestions in Taupo. They have discount vouchers for some eating places - e.g Dixie Browns. We discovered this after we had eaten a very nice meal there.

Room Tip: When booking ask if they have any rooms available with a view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed on night. The accommodation was clean, spacious, well equipped with a roomy bathroom. Free wifi make it easy to check on emails. Great value for money. Good safe parking and level to make it easy for lugging all the luggage back and forth to the car!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jakkie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom unit & found it to be very spacious, clean and well equipped. The bathroom was huge! Location Is great - easy walking distance to the waterfront and town centre. Wifi is provided but only to a very small limit (no matter the length of your stay) - we used ours up very quickly even just checking emails. Jocelyn & Murray were very helpful and friendly hosts and Ascot Motor Inn is very good value for money. Would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinaatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed just one night, on our family road trip from Wellington to Auckland for Christmas.

Our host Murray was lovely, accommodating and helpful. Our unit was amazing. Spacious and so well equipped. Can't recommend the Ascot highly enough, we would definitely stay there again and hope we can in the near future.:-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLincolns2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I rarely stay in motels but passing through Taupo for 1 night only, the Ascot Motor Inn was great value for money in a good location.

The spacious rooms were quiet and clean with all of the amenities you will need for your stay..

The rooms have some free wifi which was great but be aware that the limit is reached quickly with my husband and I exceeding the data allowance within a few hours (we were standard browsing only).

The hosts were lovely and we would definitely recommend the Ascot if you are passing through Taupo

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HolidayKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews