We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
123
63
8
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
63
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathsmall supermarketasure groupstandard studiodecent kitchenfantastic roomacross the roadone nightsky tvinto town for dinnerapartment was cleanfelt like homestay there againheat pumpwonderful stayview of the lakeminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 196 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I rarely stay in motels but passing through Taupo for 1 night only, the Ascot Motor Inn was great value for money in a good location.

The spacious rooms were quiet and clean with all of the amenities you will need for your stay..

The rooms have some free wifi which was great but be aware that the limit is reached quickly with my husband and I exceeding the data allowance within a few hours (we were standard browsing only).

The hosts were lovely and we would definitely recommend the Ascot if you are passing through Taupo

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HolidayKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, for 4 adults traveling together. We got a ground floor unit, which is recommended if you have larger and heavier baggage, which you don't want to lug upstairs to the 2nd floor. The apartment was clean and spacious with plenty of 'living room', with a very well appointed and equipped kitchen. We did not not cook a meal there, but easily could have, given the array of utensils, pots etc. The bedrooms were both spacious and had comfortable beds. The bathroom was large, airy with a spa tub, and very good shower ! Murray and Jocelyn the Innkeepers were very friendly, obliging, and made good recommendations for restaurants in town. We would definitely stay here again when in the Taupo area, and highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CIOonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a corner ground floor 2 bedroom unit . I was impressed and pleased with the high standard of cleanliness . The only minor fault i would say was that the sofa has a mild unpleasant smell. There was no lake view , but it was fine with us. New utensils and everything in the mini kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff who helped to replace the remote control immediately which couldn't work. Parking was right in front of the unit which made loading easier. Reasonable rate and we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Christmas break. Very helpful staff and high standard of cleanliness in the room. Good location, walking distance to the town centre (5 mins) but far enough to be quiet in the night. The only minor fault I could find is the balcony lighting is not ideally positioned and a lot leaks into the room. However the heavy curtains are sufficient to block almost all of it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gwb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Loved this motel. Extremely comfortable stay - lovely, clean fresh rooms. Great to have the dish drawer as well (we were in a two bed unit). Will definitely stay here again when in Taupo. Good location - close to the town centre but far enough away to feel quiet. Small set of shops across the road for those necessities.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank mlissbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews