We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Chevron Motel

Chevron Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chevron Motel
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Booked in late via the Taupo i-site. First impression looked too close to road, but noise levels were minimal especially since the bedroom area was at the rear.
Laundry facilities very good.
Very well equipped with large sitting area so would be ideal for a family.
Short walk to restaurants and lake front.
Very knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Excellent no frills Motel, well located for visiting the Taupo region

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old_engineer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Brilliant accommodation. If you want somewhere clean affordable and handy to town this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiav8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Andre, SP
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

That was the best hotel we stayed in NZ. Really comfortable and clean. The staff was really kind too. Besides, they love Brazilians and gave us a discount! =D

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarinaBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Recent stay at this motel. Very good location near the centre of town. However, experienced significant night time noise, so bring your earplugs! Owner very friendly, professional and very helpful in recommending various tourist related activities. Rooms are self contained and more importantly very clean. The decor, furnishings and shower are circa. early 80's and in serious need of updating. Would I go back or recommend? No, not in its current state. With updating, yes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketman1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Lovely quiet motel. Great location with easy walk to all the hot spots of Taupo. Nice and clean, great and super friendly people on reception who make you feel welcome and maintain the spa / hot tub very well. Husband and I have stayed here many times on route to Wellington and to meet up with family. Parking is right out front so you can't go wrong !

  • Liked — Location Location Location !!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUFZID AUKZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Wow our first visit to TAUPO, this motel was more than we expected totally blew us away. Location was in the heart of TAUPO walking distance to town centre TAUPO LAKE, etc. Our unit was a 1bdrm was very clean, accommodating 2 adults & 2 children, very thing in it was excellent . The unexpected bonus was the SPA POOL guest could use privately. Check in was a true friendly welcome with local knowledge of TAUPO's attractions, food & entertainment venues another motel highly recommended. woohoo!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No Negatives here
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pimprezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#37 of 69 in Taupo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevron Motel

Property: Chevron Motel
Address: 102 Tamamutu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chevron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing