We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional and Terrible staff with no customer service skill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unprofessional and Terrible staff with no customer service skill”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. the accommodation was really good but the STAFF IS NOT HELPFUL.

I booked for an standard room and they allocate me the Disable room and when i asked they said that its the last room,. when on the next day i asked them to extend my stay then the receptionist telling me book online even when i am standing in front of her.

It didn't finish there now how she talk to the manager and agree to give me the same price that i have booked. I asked her do you have any other room available and she replied yes we do :), i was happy to hear that and i asked her if i can change my room as the existing room is Disable room and i stayed there last night as it was the only room available but now you have room so i can change my room.

NOW the really disappointing thing i ever heard, The receptionist lady replied as you paying the same amount as last night you can only stay in the disable room,,, we cant change your room even we have rooms available and the reason that we need to clean your room...I think even backpacker have better receptionist then them, She was just, Rude and don't know what customer service mean.

i would never suggest to stay here. better stay somewhere else as you have lot of places to stay.

They charge the credit card even you already paid for the accommodation by EFTOS and when i ask them that when i will get my money back in my Credit card and she said in 1 day.

It took 2 week for me to get my money.. if you don't know what to tell your customer then at least don't Lie.

Room Tip: Better not to stay here if you expect good customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Firstly Ravi thank you for your honest feedback and for taking the time to speak to me about your experiences. It is always extremely disappointing to recieve poor feedback in areas of the operation that we have full control over. Customer Service is of upmost importance and we did; in my opinion, really let you down. My sincere apologies for this.
Kind Regards
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    140
    54
    13
    4
See reviews for
96
106
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 12 days in Taupo, and ate at Mousetrap for dinner. Food was great. Staff were attentive and service excellent. We sat outside with the wonderful view of Lake Taupo and the mountains. The restaurant serve locally roasted Volcanic Coffee which is delicious. Overall a great spot to stay and enjoy holidays with the family. Ps love the plate of mousetraps to nibble on while our dinner was being prepared!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mlnjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Great to read that you enjoyed the restaurant. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Black mold all around the shower bottom. The hotel was very nice but the black mould was large and all around the shower.

I reported it to reception and they justified it as ok because it was under silicon.

I replied that there no excuse for a hotel to have large amounts of mold, rip the silicon and replace it every time. Such a nice hotel ruined by hygiene.

Why is it important not to have mold? Because it can get under your toe nails and ruin your nails for years.

Bed was very comfortable !

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WozzaDog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
I appreciate the comments. Although this is not an issue throughout the entire hotel it is the reason why we are renovating the bathrooms throughout our property. To date we have completed about 20% of the rooms. Unfortunately going into the busy Christmas period we were unable to complete all the rooms. From what our bathroom installers are telling us we understand that some of the issues are through the original installation which was not done correctly. This is unfortunate and something that we are working through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

View of the lake Taupo from bed. Luxury, clean beautiful room.
Swimming pool with hot spa just great!
Very friendly reception . The food at the Mousetrap excellent.
Friendly service too.
Walking distance to town.
Second time there and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
It's great to have you as a returning guest Daphne, we look forward to your next stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way from Rotorua and on our way to Wellington. The room was very well equipped and was extremely clean and quite luxurious (much more than we expected for the reasonable price that came with it)... We had our own verandah that overlooked the lake and made for a wonderful tea / drinks area especially during sun set.

The staff were friendly and very well prepared for our arrival so we wasted absolutely no time at the check-in counter. Also has a pool area, though we did not use it. Close to the main shopping and dining areas, this is a hotel that has my recommendation to anyone travelling to Taupo

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Taupo has the most amazing sunsets so I'm glad you got to enjoy them from the balcony of your lake view room. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great place to stay as a couple or with a family. Very clean and tidy accommodation, family unit was awesome. Had its own verandah, sitting/smoking area in the front. Outdoor pool and spa, play area for the kids. Plenty to do within walking distance. Reasonably priced, friendly staff. Would happily recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for the recommendation, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the New Year with a family. Great spot with views of the Lake. My son loved it as the mini golf, mini buggy, zorb and Segway's are 50m away. Staff were great and even though we had some noisy NYE revellers next door the hotel security dealt with them. It was a 500m walk to all the main dining and shopping locations and to the NYE fireworks. We stayed in the lake view studio rooms. Room was clean and beds were very comfortable and included small sofa and good TV. I would recommend this motel for families and couples.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Great to hear your positive feedback about our Night Porter staff over New Years, I will certainly pass this on. It sounds like you had a fun time with your family enjoying some of the sights and activities that Taupo has to offer. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
0.2 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#18 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous four-room conference venue and on-site restaurant The Mousetrap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncourt Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing