We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at Mousetrap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food at Mousetrap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 12 days in Taupo, and ate at Mousetrap for dinner. Food was great. Staff were attentive and service excellent. We sat outside with the wonderful view of Lake Taupo and the mountains. The restaurant serve locally roasted Volcanic Coffee which is delicious. Overall a great spot to stay and enjoy holidays with the family. Ps love the plate of mousetraps to nibble on while our dinner was being prepared!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mlnjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Great to read that you enjoyed the restaurant. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    132
    51
    13
    4
See reviews for
92
96
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Black mold all around the shower bottom. The hotel was very nice but the black mould was large and all around the shower.

I reported it to reception and they justified it as ok because it was under silicon.

I replied that there no excuse for a hotel to have large amounts of mold, rip the silicon and replace it every time. Such a nice hotel ruined by hygiene.

Why is it important not to have mold? Because it can get under your toe nails and ruin your nails for years.

Bed was very comfortable !

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WozzaDog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
I appreciate the comments. Although this is not an issue throughout the entire hotel it is the reason why we are renovating the bathrooms throughout our property. To date we have completed about 20% of the rooms. Unfortunately going into the busy Christmas period we were unable to complete all the rooms. From what our bathroom installers are telling us we understand that some of the issues are through the original installation which was not done correctly. This is unfortunate and something that we are working through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

View of the lake Taupo from bed. Luxury, clean beautiful room.
Swimming pool with hot spa just great!
Very friendly reception . The food at the Mousetrap excellent.
Friendly service too.
Walking distance to town.
Second time there and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
It's great to have you as a returning guest Daphne, we look forward to your next stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way from Rotorua and on our way to Wellington. The room was very well equipped and was extremely clean and quite luxurious (much more than we expected for the reasonable price that came with it)... We had our own verandah that overlooked the lake and made for a wonderful tea / drinks area especially during sun set.

The staff were friendly and very well prepared for our arrival so we wasted absolutely no time at the check-in counter. Also has a pool area, though we did not use it. Close to the main shopping and dining areas, this is a hotel that has my recommendation to anyone travelling to Taupo

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RD1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Taupo has the most amazing sunsets so I'm glad you got to enjoy them from the balcony of your lake view room. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great place to stay as a couple or with a family. Very clean and tidy accommodation, family unit was awesome. Had its own verandah, sitting/smoking area in the front. Outdoor pool and spa, play area for the kids. Plenty to do within walking distance. Reasonably priced, friendly staff. Would happily recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for the recommendation, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the New Year with a family. Great spot with views of the Lake. My son loved it as the mini golf, mini buggy, zorb and Segway's are 50m away. Staff were great and even though we had some noisy NYE revellers next door the hotel security dealt with them. It was a 500m walk to all the main dining and shopping locations and to the NYE fireworks. We stayed in the lake view studio rooms. Room was clean and beds were very comfortable and included small sofa and good TV. I would recommend this motel for families and couples.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Great to hear your positive feedback about our Night Porter staff over New Years, I will certainly pass this on. It sounds like you had a fun time with your family enjoying some of the sights and activities that Taupo has to offer. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is clean and tidy, not five star but price reflects this. The room was well appointed and the bed comfortable. The restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices. Overall a great place to lay one's head.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments, have a great New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#13 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#20 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#47 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#18 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous four-room conference venue and on-site restaurant The Mousetrap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncourt Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing