We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #22 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“loved the view”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband & I stayed 1 night here in November/13 & really enjoyed the room with a great view of the lake. Staff most helpful with suggestions & directions to local attractions>. Dinner in the restaurant very nice. We would both recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I agree, the views are fantastic. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Have a great Christmas and New Year.

Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    140
    54
    13
    4
See reviews for
96
106
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stay there for two nights in my last trip, Rooms are pretty clean and nice, have amazing and beautiful view of Lake Taupo and Mt Raupheu & Mt Ngauruhoe in Background, Rooms and bathroom are spacious and staff are always helpful, not too expensive. Ample of parking space and have nice restaurant also, also there is good restaurants with walking distance nearby. Morning view of the lake are priceless. Advance booking is always advisable for weekends and holidays. I really enjoy my stay there and would like to come back

Room Tip: Choose Rooms between 15 to 20 as it is in first floor with amazing view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashok_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to give honest feedback.
Travel safe and have a great Christmas and New Year.
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from the 1st of November to the 3rdf November 2013..We got a great deal called the Lake Break Package which included buffet breakfast every morning which was just excellent food..When we arrived we got out of the car and andrew the manager asked if we were okay or needed anything or wanted any info on Lake Taupo attractions such a friendly helpful manager a pleasure to meet and deal with...All the staff here are just so friendly and go out of their way to help you the restaurant staff were brilliant and our dinners and breakfasts at The Mousetrap were of excellent quality every time...We had a second floor lakeview room closest to reception end the views were just stunning ..Our room had all the comforts we needed and the spa was very relaxing ..Great comfy bed ..We thouroughly enjoyed our saty at Suncourt and wish it could of been for longer hopefull one day we can return fro Australia to visit again ..Thanks to the wonderful manager Andrew and your amazing staff for outstanding service during our stay

Room Tip: Second Floor lakeview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to past on your positive comments, the staff love it.
All the Best
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was a 4 star Qualmark property situated centrally in LakeTaupo and with some units with views over the lake. We had a new unit at the rear of the hotel, which was clean and fresh. The bedroom was ill designed with the door hitting the side of the bed. The second room was at the front of the hotel and this had been up dated but there were no bed side tables! The hotel staff were friendly but there were continual problems with wifi and an unhelpful remark that it would be sorted out after the weekend! No good for travellers. The food was average and expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front where you can see the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments, my apologies for the short comings you experienced. It is all good feedback and I will be addressing your concerns.
I know there was an issue with our FREE WIFI which has since been sorted out. I was disappointed that you found our restuarant pricing expensive as we work hard to ensure good value and good quality.

Thank you again for your comments.
Kind Regards

Andrew Milne - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Totally chill axing,
Sort ya selves out after a drive check in dump the bags,grab ya beers or what ever head out to the balcony sit back take in the atomosphere over looking Lake Taupo and beyond to the o'l volcanoes still with a bit of snow cap and watch the sunset.
Then when thats all over 10 minute walk to restaurants/pubs what more do you need.

Room Tip: Top Storey Lake Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Love your comments.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights in this motel. First night was in a one bedroom lakefront room on the first floor . The room consisted of 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with 2 singles with full lake views to die for! You can lie in bed and marvel and the big lake in front of you and the snow topped mountains in the background! We have known this motel for years and we stayed here in the past so we noticed that it has gone through a nice refurbishment even though the bathroom seemed to be a bit outdated compared to the rest of the room but everything was spotless!
We spent 2 other nights in a one bedroom garden unit that was a bit smaller (in fact the door couldn't be closed in the second bedroom unless you moved a bed) but it was cheaper and just as nice because of it was sun kissed in the afternoon making pre dinner drinks on the little deck a very nice moment to remember! The swimming pool and the spa were very clean and really enjoyable to use after a day spent skiing.
We had dinner at the adjoined restaurant called The Mousetrap which offered a nice all you can eat buffet dinner for a very reasonable price.
The only moaning would be about the broken clothes iron in the room...i happened to need one but the one there seemed to be leaking water and the plastic around it was broken in several places. Reception couldn't help to find another one so the only choice was to go and get the one in the communal laundry (they have two even thou rooms are equipped with irons) that was in better shape than the other one...
We will certainly return to this motel as we are sure that they are always trying to to improve their service.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakefront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Suncourt Hotel, you summed the property up very well and in a fair way. I was a little disappointed that we missed the mark with the iron but have followed up with reception with a little training. Travel Safe.
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I would visit this place again not only was the Manager Andrew and his staff were just awesome they did everything to help us achieve what we came to do they were there to assist us the food in their restaurant was excellent and this is a place I would stay at again thank you to the staff that made my sister and I feel welcome you where the best

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Ladies,
Thank you for your comments, we really enjoyed you visiting us. All the best for your travels and hopefully we we see you again some day.
Happy PEG Shopping!
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
0.2 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#18 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous four-room conference venue and on-site restaurant The Mousetrap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncourt Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing