We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lake view”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room was spacious and clean.

Unfortunately, BF went down with cold on the day we got there, so we spent quite some time in the room. What we love the most was lying in bed and enjoying the view of Lake Taupo during the time. Simply beautiful!

The restaurant was pretty good, too. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. There was no lift though, and we had to carry our suitcase upstairs. Not sure if guests in wheelchair would be able to stay on the upper floor.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, sorry about the weather, some things are out of our control.
Safe travels.

Andrew Milne - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    135
    54
    13
    4
See reviews for
95
103
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Over the last three months I have stayed at Suncourt 5 times, the room are spacious, warm and comfortable. The Mousetrap the restaurant is just as good value providing very good quality tasty dinners. Thanks to the team at Suncourt and Mousetrap

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the team love the positive feedback.
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Atatu, null, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Garden unit was perfect for the family. Clean tidy and warm and close to the playground which the kids absolutely loved.
The Service was great and the staff went out of their way to ensure we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Mark,

Thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Conference facilities were very good as was the food provided on the day. Some of our group stayed for the night including dinner and the rugby, again the food was nice and the hotel staff were very accommodating. The hotel seems to have been recently decorated, very tastefully I might add and the rooms were well presented, clean and comfortable.
Overall a highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Justin,
Thank you for your positive comments, its always great to be able to pass on good feedback to the team.

Kind Regards
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The golf package deal was well organised and very good value.Room and view were good.However,dinner with family at restaurant was disappointing for these reasons;
medium rare steak for grandson was too rare and husband's filet steak was not fillet as had grisel which fillet steak does not have.
Seafood pasta was short on seafood .Scotch fillet was good

Room Tip: be aware of walking upstairs to 1st floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
The Crazy Golf Deal was awesome value and enjoyed by many, I trust your golf went well. I was disappointed to read that your restaurant meal wasn't up to expectations and I apologise for this, we pride ourselves in the quality of all our meals. Rest assured that this his made passed on to the head chef for their attention and action.

Happy Golfing
Andrew Milne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My room was very comfortable and spacious, with a big bathroom containing a spa bath and separate shower. There is also a great view out to the lake and ample parking for hotel guests. The staff were all very friendly and attentive at both reception and in the restaurant / bar, where they have $5 tap beers, which has to be one of the best prices in town! Food was tasty and good value, with reasonably quick room service.

The location is perfect, as it's a short walk into town with the bars, restaurants and shops, yet far enough away to be nice and quiet. The pool and spa were unfortunately being repaired, but it was too cold for the swimming pool anyway, so no great loss at this time of year.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Mike,

Thank you for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you naking the effort to post some feedback.

Regards
Andrew Milne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Positioned right on the lakeshore, the views from the second floor of the Suncourt Hotel are incomparable. My room was quite large with an equally large bath. Although this is an older hotel, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the restaurant good, and the service very good! I'd sure stay here again if I was in Taupo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for you comments, can't wait to pass this onto the team.

Andrew Milne - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#11 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#18 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous four-room conference venue and on-site restaurant The Mousetrap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncourt Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing