We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vibes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taupo Urban Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taupo Urban Retreat
Ranked #16 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vibes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed in a private double with a friend and we had our own toilet and shower with towels provided. The vibe of the hostel is really cool and the happy hour is great value. The staff are really friendly and helpful and gave us great advice about the tongariro crossing. It is about a 20 minute walk from the springs and huka falls. Really central to everything. Only negative and this could happen to anyone is that Kiwi experience people came home drunk and were loud all night. I had to get up and tell them to keep it down. $4 for 24 hour wifi but there are computers available. No BYO for alcohol and the bar closes at about 9 or 10.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
2
56
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here whilst doing the kiwi experience for 2 nights. We really enjoyed it here, everyone running the hostel was really nice and accommodating. Its a really cool and quirky little hostel, not your standard everyday hostel, it definitely had character.
The facilities are really good, the kitchen is well equipment a little small but it isn't the biggest of hostels so doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geepea95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a really good vibe. Had a really good time here. Has a well equipped kitchen and large dining area. Has good pool table, nice outside area, great bar (the cheapest in Taupo!) and a comfy TV room and computers to use. They will also help you out with great deals on local attractions.

I recommend staying in the big 16 bed dorm as it's a really nice, unique dorm. The smaller dorms are just standard

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I went to this backpacker after staying 2 horrible nights in yha taupo..... This hostel was much better... They have better beds rooms are well maintained..... Nice common room...they do have a bar there if u want to grab a beer after a trek ....

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kaustubh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Having just travelled the length of NZ - northland to south canterbury - I can honestly say that this hostel had one of the best atmospheres of any I visited. Staff were friendly from the get-go, my room was clean and had loooaaaads of under-bed (padlock-able) storage and my room mates were absolute quality (I was a sole-traveller)... The place is lively and buzzing, with an open plan kitchen/eating/seating area which really encourages people to socialise (i met a new friend at every meal time). Meanwhile it didn't ever get too roudy and there was no noise disruption at bed time. The backpackers is in an excellent location - just across the road from several great cafes and 5mins walk to i-site. The staff were great for local information (free walks, free hot spring sites, and even advice for my next leg of travel!) - particularly the owner, who clearly has a LOT of north island knowledge to share! If you're looking for privacy and hotel-style surroundings then this probably isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for a friendly hostel with great atmosphere and LOADS to do in the area then this place is it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daviesc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hostel! Despite us mucking up and turning up late without notifying them (oops!), they were super helpful and accommodating with everything. Good food, nice rooms and great showers! Lovely kitchen area, and a great lounge area!

We had a great time!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here through the Kiwi Experience and it was fine. Very reasonably priced at $25 a night, good-sized, fully equipped kitchen, free use of computers, tv room, cheap drinks, comfy beds and clean bathrooms. Overall I really enjoyed it here. The staff are really friendly and their local knowledge is great. The dorms are a bit small and don't have a lot of space for bags/plug sockets etc but it's not a massive issue. Location is perfect, right in the middle of Taupo aswell. Would stay here again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pete2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#2 of 34 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Silver Fern Lodge
Silver Fern Lodge
#19 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Property: Taupo Urban Retreat
Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat, your home away from home! Free internet, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants, yet far enough away to get a good night's sleep. We are also only a few minutes walk from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a really sociable and chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $8 get a cold beer or wine to wash it down too. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen, free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you're all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We'd love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We've been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you're looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. We can also help you book onwards travel, although you may find you never want to leave Taupo! With a friendly welcoming vibe, cheap drinks and helpful staff Taupo Urban Retreat is your home away from home in Taupo. We look forward to having you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing