We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taupo Urban Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$154
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$109
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Beach Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$73
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$72
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$123
$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$80
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
$108
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
65
72
41
19
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
72
41
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschilli con carnebeer pongbar closescheapest drinksroom's windowgreat place to meet peoplemixed dormbed dorm roomwater pressure isdecent kitchenliving spacestayed here for nightskitchen facilitiesfree wifiexcellent facilitieshostelbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 213 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you want to do a skydive and stay at lake Taupo I would really recommend you guys to stay at this Hostel! I stayed here for 4 days and it was just perfect! Staff is really nice, the rooms are really clean and the beds are comfortable! Other than that Urban retreat is a great place to meet other backpackers! They have there own bar, drinks are cheap and its a good way to meet other people! Have fun guys!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonnis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you had a great social experinence at the hostel. We look forward to having you stay again if you return back to Taupo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

No beer rule worked well. Beer over the bar was cheap (for NZ) and gave the evenings a nice vibe. Beer pong was new to us oldies.
Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Bike hire was a good feature. Really helpful in advising and helping with activity choices.
Room basic but clean and functional, good hot en suite shower.
Well thought out and designed, best hostel we've been at - probably ideal for younger or single travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We love welcoming all ages to come and join our Urban family during their stay in Taupo. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The actual hostel was lovely it was very clean, the common room was cool with free pool table and lots of communal seating, and the kitchen was big with lots of equipment. There was also a tiny tv room where everyone piled into so none was chatting and everyone kept themselves to themselves. There were lots of patronising notes up on the walls and a pretty rude r English man at the desk. I didn't feel at home here at all. It was a shame because it was one of the nicer hostel buildings I've stayed in. There is is a bar which was pretty cheap but it closes at 10 and any of your own alcohol is confiscated on arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel and are glad you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. Unfortunately due to our liquor license we have to confiscate any alcohol brought in by guests, (returned on checkout), but have kept our bar the cheapest in town to allow people to still have a good, cheap night should they wish to drink. We have also found this reduces noise and mess in rooms allowing other guests a peaceful nights stay. I am sorry that you found one of our staff members to be rude. We have spoken to all staff who were working during your stay and am sure the situation has been dealt with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hostel was great! They do some brilliant offers like the meal deal in the evening which is brilliant touch for hungry backpackers who don't want to cook. However there is a decent sized kitchen and a good amount of tables to sit at, if you do want to cook your own dinner. They also offer an hour's free wifi for everyone staying at the hostel, which we all know is a great touch for skint backpackers! There is an opportunity for beer pong if you ask the bar nicely... they will provide a table, the cups and the ping pong balls! Nice cheap bar as well with a big TV, which is a good touch if you want to start your night out at the hostel with a few bevvies.
4-bed dorm rooms are pretty small once you get all your bags and everything in. Bathrooms are (I think - hope!) unisex and showers seemed clean enough.
One problem was I found the British guy at the desk really brash, a bit rude and not very friendly at all. Maybe he was just having a bad couple of days though!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ep2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. They were indeed unisex bathrooms upstairs. We do also have male and female only bathrooms downstairs. Unfortunately some rooms seem a bit small with everyones bags in them. There are large storage lockers under each bed which fit a standard sized backpack so that you can have more space in the room and keep your valuables safe. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights the staff were extremely lovely and helpful. We had the chilli con carne for dinner one night and it was brilliant, a large portion which tasted good! The rooms were extremely spacious and comfy with lots of power sources! However the blinds wernt the best but that was fine. The kitchen was small but adequate for quick cooking and the dining area was nice and big! The bathrooms were small with just 2 toilets and a shower which was really good. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for sharing your experience of our hostel. The boys have been perfecting the chilli recipe over the years and were stoked to hear your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews