We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best out of 5 we've been in, ideal for youngs and single travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taupo Urban Retreat
Ranked #18 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

No beer rule worked well. Beer over the bar was cheap (for NZ) and gave the evenings a nice vibe. Beer pong was new to us oldies.
Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Bike hire was a good feature. Really helpful in advising and helping with activity choices.
Room basic but clean and functional, good hot en suite shower.
Well thought out and designed, best hostel we've been at - probably ideal for younger or single travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We love welcoming all ages to come and join our Urban family during their stay in Taupo. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Taupo Urban Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The actual hostel was lovely it was very clean, the common room was cool with free pool table and lots of communal seating, and the kitchen was big with lots of equipment. There was also a tiny tv room where everyone piled into so none was chatting and everyone kept themselves to themselves. There were lots of patronising notes up on the walls and a pretty rude r English man at the desk. I didn't feel at home here at all. It was a shame because it was one of the nicer hostel buildings I've stayed in. There is is a bar which was pretty cheap but it closes at 10 and any of your own alcohol is confiscated on arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel and are glad you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. Unfortunately due to our liquor license we have to confiscate any alcohol brought in by guests, (returned on checkout), but have kept our bar the cheapest in town to allow people to still have a good, cheap night should they wish to drink. We have also found this reduces noise and mess in rooms allowing other guests a peaceful nights stay. I am sorry that you found one of our staff members to be rude. We have spoken to all staff who were working during your stay and am sure the situation has been dealt with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hostel was great! They do some brilliant offers like the meal deal in the evening which is brilliant touch for hungry backpackers who don't want to cook. However there is a decent sized kitchen and a good amount of tables to sit at, if you do want to cook your own dinner. They also offer an hour's free wifi for everyone staying at the hostel, which we all know is a great touch for skint backpackers! There is an opportunity for beer pong if you ask the bar nicely... they will provide a table, the cups and the ping pong balls! Nice cheap bar as well with a big TV, which is a good touch if you want to start your night out at the hostel with a few bevvies.
4-bed dorm rooms are pretty small once you get all your bags and everything in. Bathrooms are (I think - hope!) unisex and showers seemed clean enough.
One problem was I found the British guy at the desk really brash, a bit rude and not very friendly at all. Maybe he was just having a bad couple of days though!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ep2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. They were indeed unisex bathrooms upstairs. We do also have male and female only bathrooms downstairs. Unfortunately some rooms seem a bit small with everyones bags in them. There are large storage lockers under each bed which fit a standard sized backpack so that you can have more space in the room and keep your valuables safe. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights the staff were extremely lovely and helpful. We had the chilli con carne for dinner one night and it was brilliant, a large portion which tasted good! The rooms were extremely spacious and comfy with lots of power sources! However the blinds wernt the best but that was fine. The kitchen was small but adequate for quick cooking and the dining area was nice and big! The bathrooms were small with just 2 toilets and a shower which was really good. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for sharing your experience of our hostel. The boys have been perfecting the chilli recipe over the years and were stoked to hear your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

room was very musty smelling due to damp from ensuite, however apart from that, great location and friendly staff, cheap beer, what more could you want.
beds are just foam squabs on slat bunks, night we were there was very hot and stuffy so sleep wasnt the best but its clean and tidy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boru_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Our inner city building does have a few “design quirks” but our awesome staff keep everything clean and tidy and are here to make your stay a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hostel was amazing. The service was excellent and the staff were amazing, very helpful and kind. I stayed in a 16 bed room and for the most part it was excellent. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaMaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for letting people know you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night out in Taupo, so it suited us, they gave us a cheap meal and then cheap drinks. The room was quite small (4 bed dorm). On the whole, it was clean and we really liked Taupo, would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahiedlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We love Taupo and try to keep everything reasonable so that you can enjoy the many activities (paid and free) that are on offer here, we hope you do return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Base Taupo
Base Taupo
#19 of 34 in Taupo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $30 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat - your home away from home! Free unlimited WIFI and computers, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants and the shores of the stunning Great Lake Taupo - yet far enough away to get a good night’s sleep. Not to mention we are only minutes away from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a sociable yet chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $3 more get a cold beer or wine to wash it down. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen with free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you’re all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We’d love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We’ve been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you’re looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! Still have energy to burn? We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. If you are moving on, our awesome team can help you book your onwards travel – be warned you may find you never want to leave Taupo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing