We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taupo Urban Retreat
Ranked #19 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hostel was amazing. The service was excellent and the staff were amazing, very helpful and kind. I stayed in a 16 bed room and for the most part it was excellent. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaMaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for letting people know you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night out in Taupo, so it suited us, they gave us a cheap meal and then cheap drinks. The room was quite small (4 bed dorm). On the whole, it was clean and we really liked Taupo, would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahiedlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We love Taupo and try to keep everything reasonable so that you can enjoy the many activities (paid and free) that are on offer here, we hope you do return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hostel is a home to the big tour companies, wich means every night there is a load of young people staying here for a night. And with that party, noise and not really the chance to connect to fellow travelers. Other then that, its a good hostel, clean and comfortable, good location.

Room Tip: Dont sleep on the attic (15 beds) with all these people you wont get a rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We have a variety of people staying with us, some days busier than other depending on bus schedules, which do not come in every day. We do also have a lot of independent people travelling through as well who can connect in our several communal areas. Our bar does close at 10pm as we respect all our guests and encourage any revellers to head down to the party bars. We will pass on your comments about how clean the hostel was to our House Keeping Team. I am sure this will make them happy 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was the first hostel that I've ever stayed in so I didn't know what to expect. This was also my first time in Taupo so maybe my review is partially unfair because it was spring break in Taupo at the time I was there and it felt that way.

When my party walked into the hostel it was loud and there were A LOT of college age people. I'm in my mid-twenties and even I felt old there. The lounge area was full and people were also hanging out by the entrance drinking. It seriously felt like what I would envision spring break in Cancun would be like. And as I said, I don't know if the hostel just attracts that type or if Taupo does but that's what I experienced.

They had an affordable happy hour from 7-8. It was actually a pretty cheap bar overall (even without the happy hour prices) which could also be why it was really loud and overwhelming. BUT I will say that once it was 10pm the lounge emptied out and it was really quiet.

The room itself was ok. Had an affordable one bed with private bathroom. The room itself was ok just a bit stuffy. There was no fan or any real ventilation. I did like that there were locks on the hostel doors that locked at a certain time and you needed the code to get in and out. Made the place feel really secure.

I only dealt with two staff members while I was there. I know one was named Tom and the other I'm sorry but I don't remember his name but he served drinks. I really liked them both. They were both very helpful when I asked questions and needed something. And they were happy to talk story and provide recommendations if they weren't slammed. They were both sarcastic at times though to various people could come off as sassy if you took it that way. I didn't. I kind of enjoyed it. It made it seem like they were really people and not just employees sucking up to please. It was refreshing to me but I could understand if some people are put off by it (one person in my group kind of was). But I liked them and found them to be very helpful.

The overall experience at Urban Retreat was ok. I liked the staff and the bar. The room was ok. The environment itself just wasn't my thing. This place was nowhere near bad and could definitely be your cup of tea if you were younger than me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thanks for such an in-depth review, what more could we say 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a great stay here, Urban Retreat is a small, clean hostel with friendly staff. Great place to meet people if you're a solo traveller.

Cheap internet - loved that you get a full hour free. Good character hostel and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The big dorm is good fun and not as rowdy as I expected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay and all we offer, our staff really do care about your experience, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very nice Hostel and a great, helpfull staff.
The double rooms are very cosy and clean.
The drinks at the bar are very cheap,and the $5 chilli very yammy.The garden is a good place to relax and meet people.
Cheap, fast internet and 1 hour free! Close to the lake and the city center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flavie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Urban Retreat aim to provide for a pleasant and affordable stay in Taupo with a great location, glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were really disappointed with this hostel. Taupo is amazing and well worth a visit, but this hostel is not for everyone. Our private room was awful. There were no windows, so the room was really dark and there was a ventilation shaft just outside the room shooting out hot air, so the room was boiling! There was no air con in the room, just a wall fan which moved the hot air around. We stayed for two nights and could not have stayed any longer.

The lady at reception was always very helpful and friendly. Drinks were cheap here and it was very much a 'social' hostel, which meant it could be quite noisy late into the night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We are the first to admit that our city centre building has some design limitations but feel that is reflected in the reasonable room rates. With our bar closing at 10pm we feel that this is reasonable for all guests. Our staff aim to make everyone’s stay great and ensure that they can be of help in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#17 of 34 in Taupo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: $34 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat - your home away from home! Free unlimited WIFI and computers, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants and the shores of the stunning Great Lake Taupo - yet far enough away to get a good night’s sleep. Not to mention we are only minutes away from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a sociable yet chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $3 more get a cold beer or wine to wash it down. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen with free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you’re all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We’d love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We’ve been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you’re looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! Still have energy to burn? We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. If you are moving on, our awesome team can help you book your onwards travel – be warned you may find you never want to leave Taupo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing