We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good atmosphere :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taupo Urban Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taupo Urban Retreat
Ranked #16 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place, good atmosphere :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place was good! Friendly staff, good-sized double en suite room :) Room kept nice and warm, and clean, good atmosphere in the bar area, watched a bit of the Olympics and ate the Chilli for dinner they prepared for only $5! Good location, close to the lake and can take a walk to Huka Falls if you like walking! Hot springs not too far away too. Stayed on a Sunday night, but didn't hear any noise even though we were the closest room to the Bar!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
2
56
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Absolute terrible hostel!! We stayed in a four bed dorm, which was miniscule, no space for more than two bags. Only one person could stand in the room at any one time as it was so cramped.

The bathrooms were for both men and women, which was a little offputting for my girlfriend. There were not cleaned very well and the shower cubicles were absolutely tiny.

We had an absolutely horrific night here as there was a girl in the room next door to us (another dorm) who was having the loudest sex we have ever heard. We thought she might actually break through the wall into our room. There are no words to describe how horrific this experience was, but my girlfriend thought it may have been Samantha from Sex and the City with a megaphone. One of the other people in our dorm put her ipod on and turned the volume up to full, but could still hear them. This ordeal lasted for quite some time, from about 12:00am to 1:30am We hoped someone from reception would tell them to shut up, but there was no one on reception that we could complain to about this. Numerous other guests were out in the hallway complaining and knocking on the door, but nothing helped the situation and the girl kept screaming aaaallllllll night long. We were really disturbed by it.

The kitchen is tiny and not very clean either with a great shortage of cutlery and dishware.

The place is full of immature partiers and overall it is absolutely terrible. You could not pay me to stay here again. Stay at Base, YHA or anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great hostel, feels homey and welcoming. As others have said, the layout and common room make meeting people very easy and I made a lot of friends here, even though I only stayed 2 nights. The dorm rooms were very clean and the added storage drawers under the bunks were a great plus as was the highly efficient room heater for the cooler winter nights. Very central location as well. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Taupo Urban Retreat is a friendly hostel with great staff! There is a bar with happy hour 7-8pm every day! It really is the cheapst place to drink in town. Saying that it is not too noisey to stop you sleeping well. The bar closes at 10.00 and the staff make sure its quiet so everyone gets a good night! Its a great atmosphere and its really easy to meet new people too, and if you fancy playing beer pong the guys at reception will make sure it happens for you.

They make a Chili meal every evening which is great if you dont fancy cooking for yourself! its a good feed!

There is a common area and a TV lounge with a massive range of movies to choose from! Its really close to Town, and the Lake, the staff will help you arrange any travel or activites you may want to do! And there is alot to choose from!

The staff are great and really friendly, and I loved it so much I jumped off the stray bus and extended my stay for weeks!

I would definately recommend this hostel to anyone going to Taupo!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearnden001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at Urban retreat for two nights and it was lovely! The hostel has a great cosy atmosphere and a good layout for meeting people easily. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated and there is a garden too which is cool! Awesome dvd list, great 1 hour free internet and a pretty cheap bar! The staff are really helpful and know a lot about the area and what you can do. The location is perfect, close to the lake front and also close to the bars and restuarants. I am definitely going to reccomend this hostel to fellow travellers!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Not the best hostel I've stayed in, but also not the worst.
The interior of the hostel is really nice, with a cosy common area, small kitchen and a good bar.
The atmosphere in the hostel is really good, especially at night when people gather around for a drink. Seems like the kind of place you can easily make friends. Lots of big groups from Stray and Feejee Experience coming in every week. In walking distance of restaurants, bars, supermarket and Lake Taupo. Got a really good plate of Chili Con Carne on the day of arrival!

But there's also a downside.. Even tough we are living in 2012, they still have no WIFI available. Which is a little annoying, but not a big deal if you have enough public computers available.. But there is only 2 computers for the whole hostel! They give you 60 minutes of free internet, which is a good thing, but also means everybody wants to use the internet and therefore the computers are never free. Little annoying when you need to book your bus, next hostel, want to skype with family or upload your skydive-photos.

There is a shared bathroom which didn't look very clean to me, and because the big groups are all leaving at the same time in the morning they can be very crowdy.

And last but not least, the 4 bed dorm I booked was so small that it could not fit 4 backpacks in there. Two of the guys in my room had to put one backpack on top of the other because there was simply no space to store them both. So not worth paying the extra money for the 4 bed dorm..

If you are looking for some friends to hang out with and like to have a nice bar in your hostel, this is honestly a good place to go. But the lack of Wifi, extremely small room and crowded, unclean bathrooms made me move to YHA after 2 nights.. Which I liked much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hostel was the best i have stayed at during my time in New Zealand. The staff were fantastic, they would help you if you were in trouble and in need of assistance. The location of the hostel is great not to far from town centre. I would recommend my friends to stay here. Also if there was an activity that you wanted to do they would book it for you for free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#2 of 34 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 34 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Property: Taupo Urban Retreat
Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat, your home away from home! Free internet, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants, yet far enough away to get a good night's sleep. We are also only a few minutes walk from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a really sociable and chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $8 get a cold beer or wine to wash it down too. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen, free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you're all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We'd love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We've been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you're looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. We can also help you book onwards travel, although you may find you never want to leave Taupo! With a friendly welcoming vibe, cheap drinks and helpful staff Taupo Urban Retreat is your home away from home in Taupo. We look forward to having you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing