We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We were really looking forward to our stay at Accent on Taupo with its promises of lake views, modern rooms and free wifi but ended up really disappointed. The rooms were decent and obviously recently refurbished but the promised lake view was only available from outside, was only side on and was over a mound, road and set of buildings on the other side of the road so really wasn't a feature! The promised free wi-fi was actually limited to a really small download maximum (we got about three searches on a hotel search website and it was all used up...then you have to start paying!) The welcome was not particularly warm either - we felt like we had disturbed the owner's afternoon with their family rather than arrived as paying guests! The location was also a 5-minute drive out of town and not really walkable for restaurants/ bars in the evening. As it turned out when we arrived in Taupo, there is much better value much closer to the town centre with better views and service.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 213 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at the Lodge there and it was awesome. The room was big and comfortable. The living space was large. We had 180 Degree view of the lake and it was so relaxing to come back to. The facilities were sufficient and comformtable. There is only 1 toilet and bathroom.

I would recommend staying there and would like to stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portia1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We arrive little bit late at night, but the staff still waiting us and she's very friendly and helpfull. We stayed at studios room, the rooms was clean & big, with small kitchenette. They have free wifi & nice backyard too. The location and the view was great, in front of Lake Taupo.
We had a really good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to everyone. Absolutely We love to came here again

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Accent on Taupo is a great place to stay while in Taupo. Just a short drive from the heart of town (3-4kms), everyone is catered for. We stayed in a studio suite. The room was well looked after, clean and simple. It has a great view of the lake with a coffey shop just over the road. Very relaxing, I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet retreat in Taupo.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnarley_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We had a fantastic experience with Accent. We rented the cottage which is in the rear of the property. We had a large, tastefully decorated living room with a wood fireplace. The kitchen was large and clean as well. There was one room with a queen bed and one room with two twin beds. The rooms were small, but cozy. The bathroom was nice as well. We had a table outside with a cover to use. The owners are really nice and helpful. We arrived before check-in and they took care of our bags for us so that we didn’t need to leave our packed car at the trail head for the day. They even moved our bags into our room for us and checked up on us afterward to make sure that we were comfortable.

Overall, we had a really good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed here during IronMan NZ and had a great time. The staff went out of their way to ensure we were looked after. The room (actually a lake house) was spacious and we enjoyed the lounge area for entertaining and relaxing after a long day.

The motel is in an excellent location a short walk into town along the lake shore.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kiwi-in-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelbat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccentTaupo, Owner at Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.1 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
1.2 mi away
The Lake Motel
The Lake Motel
#27 of 68 in Taupo
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge

Address: 310 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Lake Terrace in Two Mile Bay. Our contemporary rooms are spacious with super king-size beds and kitchenettes. Enjoy lake views from the front decks or relax in the back gardens. Cook on the BBQ or relax in our large private spa room. Behind the property is a 4-acre reserve and across the road are paved walkways around the lake edge to swimming beaches or nearby restaurants. All rooms enjoy free Wifi and SKY Guest Select 50+ Channels. The Lakehouse and the Cottage are airconditioned. The Guest Room and the Cottage are pet friendly units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing