We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Def come again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Emergency trip north for family bereavement with elderly mum. Paul was wonderful and enabled closeness in separate studios for us. Wifi worked perfectly and the units were spotlessly clean and the bed comfy and the heating superb. Very happy to recommend. Even offered a free auckland herald weekend paper on our departure, thanks so much for helping ease a sad occasion, thanks Lynne

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 407 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Grabbed a 2 night Grab one deal. Very friendly hosts and great unit. The swimming pool and spa were well used and having 2 bedrooms was a bonus with a 6 year old early riser. Breakfast was included in the tariff which was a bonus. Very handy location, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WENDYWOOWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We (two adults and one six year old) stayed at the Cascades over the last weekend. Room was very good and spotlessly clean. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The location is quiet and there was plenty for our six year old to do. Definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend this motel as good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachaelnz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a great stay over Easter/term break with our kids and dog. Friendly staff, clean room, and basic kitchenette is really convenient. Location is super central to downtown and sightseeing outside of Taupo. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank expat_krees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had Grab One Vouchers and made a booking for 4 nights. We were welcomed warmly and the room was extremely clean and kept that way throughout our stay. The kitchen was basic but adequate and the bed very comfortable. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be equal. We were closer to the road but there was no road noise to disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend & must say it was one of the best places I had stayed in..Lovely view, friendly staff & very clean
Loved waking up to the beautiful Lake view. 2 minute drive from the city centre..
Will definitely go back & recommend to anyone visiting Taupo!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived in Taupo after a days driving with no accommodation booked, not knowing the next day the Ironman was been held there of course everywhere was booked out. I stopped at the Comfort Inn to see if he could give us an idea where we might get somewhere to stay. The owner tried ringing round a bunch of places but couldn't get anything, after spending a long time on the phone he spoke to his wife and ended up letting us stay in a room used by family and friends when they come to stay.Even phoned and booked a restaurant close by for us to get a meal. It had looked like we may end up sleeping in the car so I must say we were very grateful for all the trouble he went to for us that night. We had a lovely room at a very good rate and and a great nights sleep. Can't thank them enough and would recommend the motel to anyone. A little out of town but a lovely walk around the lake if you want to go in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20Feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lakefront Motel

Address: 303 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Family Hotel in Taupo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $93 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cascades Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing