We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
276
148
33
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
148
33
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmezzanine floorspa bathqueen bed downstairslake taupodirect access to the lakegreat accessheated swimming poolenjoyed our staythe kitchencooking facilitiesfree wifistayed for nightssmall kitchenettewould definitely stay here againshort drivelake viewgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 464 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location and wonderful staff who go the extra mile. The room was lovely and clean and our big breaky the next morning was fresh and fabulous.
Would not hesitate to stay again as a decent, comfortable. Affordable motel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The Comfort Inn is a medium priced motel in the beautiful area of Taupo. Its fresh, clean and has the personal touch when it comes to service. Dont be turned off by the slightly outdated decor. The rooms (double) is a generous size for a reasonable price of NZD$110 per night. Enjoy the tourist things to do at lake Taupo with breath taking scenery.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Pancake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recommend the Cascades Motor Lodge for a medium priced comfortable, clean Taupo motel, lake edge of beautiful Lake Taupo at Two-Mile Bay. Don’t get fooled by the places that describe themselves “lake-side” – that seems to mean on other side of a busy road, this one is lake-edge. We have now stayed 3 times at Cascades, twice in a studio unit by the pool. These units have a comfortable queen bed with crisp snow-white sheets; spa-bath in each unit, separate shower, nice quality shampoo etc.; hair-dryer, iron & board; a basic little kitchen with microwave, cook-top, pots & pans etc.; Sky Sports TV channels, free Wi-Fi. We have also stayed in a 2-story unit which offers the same as above but bigger, with full kitchen and 3 single beds upstairs. If you want to be able to view the lake from inside you will need unit one.
Outside: plenty of parking, deck chairs, a heated swimming pool, spa-pool, BBQ, and at the front a big outdoor table & chairs, BBQ, trampoline, wendy-house and play area for kids. Use of laundry facilities. Bicycles of various sizes are for hire. And of course the lodge is right beside the beach and lake. The water does not get as deep as quickly as at Five-Mile Bay, but we only had to wade out a few metres before it was deep enough to swim. And yes! It was cold! Fresh, clean, snow-fed Taupo, love it. We warmed up in the spa afterward.
Two-Mile Bay is – you guessed it – two miles from Taupo town-ship and the sealed lake-edge walk-way extends about 200M past the motel to the south end of the bay where there is a decent 3 x boat-ramp for those that want to fish for trout and also a yacht club which hires small yachts (and a lesson if required). The yacht club within easy walking distance has a coffee bar/ cafe and a licensed bar operates evenings. A short walk along the beach heading north is a lovely restaurant, or if you are energetic you could walk to town along the walk-way. We drove.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honkypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights in October 2013. We really enjoyed our stay. The motel is directly on the lake; we enjoyed walking along the path at the lake front. The staff, Alister & Charlene, we very helpful to us during our stay. They helped us with reservations and recommendations. Charlene connected us with the very best service for our Tongariro Alpine Crossing adventure. We can recommend this motel very highly. The room was very nice and very clean. The staff was very frendly. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a lovely stay here as part of our honeymoon around NZ though unfortunately it coincided with some of the worst weather we had during our trip! We were impressed with our room, which was spacious and comfortable, located on the first floor with a side view of the lake. Everything was spotlessly clean, the kitchenette well stocked and we even had a little outside seating area to make use of. Only slight criticism is the distance from town, but it is nice to walk there by the lake and besides the friendly service - from Charlene in particular, who helped sort out some bikes for us to cycle to Huka Falls on - more than made up for it. We are appreciated the laundry facilities too, especially the outside line to dry clothes on - the small things matter!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews