We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Winter Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Cascades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cascades
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Winter Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a large family unit - very large rooms for the price. Still winter, yet the kids enjoyed swimming in the heated pool. Great location on the beach. It is far from the town centre - a few km, but most of the hotels/motels are in this area. Great staff. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    120
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
133
139
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed just one night with my girlfriend.

Most room has its own parking garage built into the unit.

The unit was big- ours even had a little back patio where you can BBQ.

Right off the lake Taupo.

Nothing was wrong was the place just no character to it.

Room Tip: Any room must be big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoichiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My twin 7 year olds and I along with Grannie stayed for 1 night at the Comfort Inn Cascades. The staff were friendly, helpful and the hotel was fantastic. Kids loved the swimming pool and being so close to the lake. Our room was large and open with a great addition of two bathrooms. We would definitely return to stay here. Thanks for an awesome stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel located right on the lake in Taupo. Our unit was a double story, only 1 unit away from the lake itself. It was a very tidy and well appointed unit with a kitchenette which was very handy. Our daughter even went for a swim in the middle of Winter in the outdoor heated pool. Only a very short drive into the centre of town. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a grandparents' dream come true. We had a large, well-equipped family unit that was ideally set up, and fully met all our needs. The lovely warm pool meant hours of fun for two energetic children in mid-winter. It was just a few steps down to the lakeside where the children could explore and feed the ducks. The whole set-up was brilliant and Charlene and Alistair were the perfect hosts. We would highly recommend Comfort Inn Cascades as a place to stay. It certainly made our holiday.

Room Tip: We had Unit 3 which was ideally set up for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had an upstairs room that was comfortable, clean and warm. The kitchenette had everything we needed for breakfasts and lunches and it was very quiet and sunny. Our room had a slight smell which never really disappeared although it wasn't that offensive that you couldn't stay there. Would definitely stay there again. Got it on a Grab One and was great value.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms upstairs are fantastic late afternoon in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtgreigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Can highly recommend Comfort Inn Cascades we had 2 nights there recently catching up with friends in Taupo. The unit was very well appointed and very comfortable, had everything we needed. Charlene and Alistair were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely visit again : )

Room Tip: We had an upstairs studio unit on the north side with a view of the lake, balcony. Loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cascades

Property: Comfort Inn Cascades
Address: 303 Lake Terrace | SH1, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Cascades 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing