We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Can highly recommend Comfort Inn Cascades we had 2 nights there recently catching up with friends in Taupo. The unit was very well appointed and very comfortable, had everything we needed. Charlene and Alistair were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely visit again : )

Room Tip: We had an upstairs studio unit on the north side with a view of the lake, balcony. Loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 407 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very simple and welcoming. Room was very large, clean and in good order. Affordable too.
Location was very close to the town center. Owners were hands on and very nice. I suggest this location to weary travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-H-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My fiancé and I turned up to stay 2 nights at Comfort Inn Cascades on the recommendation of Comfort Inn Rotorua - The service from Charlaine and Alister was outstanding - from Alister walking me to the room under a brolly to check -in to Charlaine's great local knowledge of tours, restaurants and things to do. We were so happy with the service that we extended an extra night and would have stayed longer if our holidays permitted. We live in Australia and are already trying to plan a visit next year - Thanks Charlaine and Alister we will be back :)

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a fabulous weekend at the Comfort Inn Cascades! The service was outstanding and Charlene and Alister made things so easy and were so obliging! It was the perfect opportunity to meet up with family at the 'halfway' point of the island. We used the bikes, and spent some time in the spa relaxing and the kids said it was the best weekend. I think we would have to agree with them!! The units were perfect for our family and had everything we needed. It was clean and tidy plus right on the lake front. What more could you ask for?!?!?! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJNZMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely, relaxing place to spend a weekend with helpful and friendly staff. Spacious rooms, clean and brilliant views over the lake from my bed! Added extra's like bikes, plunger coffee and oodles of towels made the stay more than expected. Thank you for a brilliant weekend, we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 1 - closest to the water - Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A fantastic oasis to break our long drive. Charlene and Alister were extremely welcoming from the moment we arrived. The unit had a queen bed, two singles and 2 bathrooms. The room was clean and tidy and a place we could all relax. Downstairs opened onto the heated pool which our boys played in, despite the fact that it is winter. Prime location right next to the lake and a short walk in to town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was one of four adults that stayed here and found the poolside family apartment to be nice and good value for money especially because we got it with a grab one deal. Tidy apartment with queen bed in the lounge and 3 single beds on the mezzanine floor, a kitchenette and spacious bathroom with a shower and spa bath. We stayed when the weather was getting quite cold so it was nice to have either a hot shower or a soak in the spa bath. The heater in the apartment heats up quite quickly but never leave it on overnight because you will find that you'll start cooking especially if your sleeping upstairs, we found that out on the first night!! Our room opened out to the pool which wasn't really heated, this didn't bother us though as it was a bit too cold to be swimming anyway. All in all our weekend at the Comfort Inn was exactly that......a weekend in COMFORT!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salzinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lakefront Motel

Address: 303 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: $93 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cascades Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing