We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiwaka, Northland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Very clean and tidy. Thought the place looked new, found out it's four years old. Some strict rules (use iron on tiles, no moving inside furniture outside, etc), but fair and good to have them laid out so no surprises. Free internet, but by cable only and it's a very short cable supplied so can only use computer at their desk. Loved the walk-in shower, didn't like the toilet mounted on the wall, which creaked ominously every time I sat on it. Breakfast paninis were delicious. Great location, a short-ish walk to shops if you're in the mood, far enough that taking the car isn't unreasonable if you aren't. Good selection of menus from local eateries to browse through.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
94
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Friendly & helpful reception. Very clean apartment, comfortable. Adequately equipped kitchen, lovely bathroom. Internet connection. Secure parking. Little yard with BBQ. Shared laundry. Only slight problem was nowhere to unpack clothes in bedroom. Short walk to lake, shops etc. Perfectly reasonably place to spend a few nights whilst seeing the local sights.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatterboxLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Had an excellent stay here in a modern and clean double room with everything a self-catering traveller requires. Spa bath was a welcome extra feature. Owner was helpful, friendly and welcoming. Motel is ten minute walk from town centre.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We really loved our apartment, especially the modern bathroom with spa, heated towel rails and even a heated mirror so it did not fog over when we showered! Unfortunately my husband had a health scare while we were in Taupo and Sue and Ron just stepped in organising medical help, contacting our family back home for us and generally providing us with every comfort. Really appreciated and we will always have lovely memories now of our stay in their lovely modern motor lodge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianecrowhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Great place. Confortable room, with a lot of space. Awesome bathroom (I had one with a bathtube), great shower pressure, spotless clean. Owner very helpful. They have free internet, but unfortunately it is cabled so it didn't work with my ipod touch. However, they offer free access to a computer on the reception, which solved the problem. Complete kitchen in the room, you can make your own breakfast and other meals. There is a supermarket close by. Location is good, but about 3 blocks from the very centre - not too far to walk, and make it quiet and silent. The only con is that the mattress was too soft, and I don't like soft beds. Other than that, perfect stay. Recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Service - Friendly owners

Room - A little bland but with a nice corner spa bath

Location - Good location though not waterfront

Amenities - Free internet and free parking

Liked:
Best - The corner spa
Least - The dull room

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWholeNewWorld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Recieved a very cordial welcome on arrival, which is alwayus a great way to start a new acomodation experience.
Rooms were modern and very clean, although the strong bleach smell was a little over the top.
Very good value for money, in a town dominated by overpriced everything.
Fifteen minute walk to town, which is easily extended by a pleasant casual stroll along the lake shore.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing