We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new motel. Perfect for corporates.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland
1 review
“Excellent new motel. Perfect for corporates.”
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This motel was refreshingly modern and spacious with excellent service. Was perfect for my business stay in Taupo. Had unlimited broadband in unit and despite the cold outside the unit was lovely and warm thanks to the undefloor heating. The breakfast panini was delicious! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydoctor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    56
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
97
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
color
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Alpine Lake Motor Lodge is a lovely motel - newly decorated rooms, very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very spaceous and nicely appointed. It's a short walk to restaurants and shops. The owners are extremely helpful - with suggestions for sightseeing, shops, etc. The guest laundry was very convenient and the internet access was easy to use and fast!

The focus on customer service was excellent. We left a wallet in the room when we checked out, and in fact didn't realize that was where it was lost. The owners, who had no way to reach us while we were on vacation, sent the wallet back to us in the States. We were delighted to receive it !

Alpine Lakes is New Zealand hospitality at its best!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2009

You can't go wrong with staying at this great lodge, the owners Sue and Ron are exceptionally friendly and provide great service (from brochures, maps and travel advice, to internet access, milk and newspapers!). It's only a 5 minute walk to the main shops and lake, the rooms are new and have a modern decor and are very clean (we stayed in 3-4.5 star hotels across NZ and nothing compared to the cleanliness of the Alpine Lake Motor Lodge). We had an area outside with a table and chairs that's relatively private, but it also gives you the choice of having breakfast inside or outdoors.

The kitchenette provided everything we needed and more - cutlery, crockery, utensils, toaster, kettle, bar fridge (it feels like they almost thought of everything you might need while away!), the bathroom was excellent (shower, hairdryer, fog free mirror, heated towel rails) - especially the deluxe corner spa. The air-conditioning and heating were new and working well, as was the TV which included cable channels. We didn't experience the usual trouble with noise from your neighbours slamming doors and waking you up on holidays that we have in every hotel (the rooms seem to be insulated well). Whenever we do manage to get back to Taupo, we'll definitely be heading back to this lodge!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedCindii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed here for one night in March, it was lovely. The location was really good, just outside of the town centre and very peaceful. The room was modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. There was a kitchen area which included a microwave and there was also free broadband access. Would recommend a stay here and we would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

When we pulled up I was a bit worried as it seemed miles from anywhere on a very quiet residential street, but it is actually only about 5 minutes walk from the lake shore. The apartment had a small kitchen, but no cooker only a microwave. A fantastic bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. The rooms are non smoking but the terrace outside witha pot for butts, which when you are travelling with a smoker is a refeshing change and actually doesn't compromise the non smoking environment in the rooms. Bed was very comfy and unlike in other apartment places we stayed in on our trip this one was serviced daily. We actually ended up staying an extra night as we liked the place and Taupo so much. If I visited this area again I would actually stay in Taupo and use it more as a base and see things further away rather than actually going to stay for example in Rotorua. Taupo smells better! Hosts were very friendly and helpful with directions and use of the internet for free in their back office.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

In terms of the hotel I can do no better than point you to the excellent and accurate observations of "Parsanias', posted on 26th February. My one disagreement is over the noise of the aircon fan , which caused us no problems at all and my wife is a light sleeper. Also I think it is probably a 15 minute walk to the lake front.
Other comments on Taupo; I hesitate to recommend any particular establishment for dinner, just have a look at go with what you fancy, nothing was too appealing from my point of view. However, we do recommend 'Friendlys' for breakfast. All freshly cooked and excellent value. If you are really hungry try the omelette., piping hot and delicious.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LlewllynBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Alpine Lake Motor Lodge is an entirely typical NZ motel - clean, modern with a friendly and locally knowledgeable hands-on owner. The motel is in the mainly residential zone of one of Taupo’s main arteries, with many other motels as neighbours. It’s a ten-minute walk to the lakeshore and the shops. The rooms are arranged on two floors in a single wing. Bathrooms contain a spa bath and walk-in shower. There are adequate kitchen facilities - a two-hob plate, a microwave and sufficient pots, pans, cutlery and crockery. The bedroom was a decent size, the bed very comfy. There is minimal storage space and the lighting was exceptionally harsh - oddly, there were no bedside lights. There was a dining table and a separate desk for a laptop - very fast Internet - and even a little private garden patio for ground floor rooms. Road noise, since the motel is at right angles to the road, is not a problem, though an aircon fan right outside our sliding glass door was. Value, as ever in these places, is outstanding.

Taupo has several restaurants - we had a brilliant dinner at The Brantry on Rifle Range Road, a ten-minute walk away.

A motel that does exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#25 of 69 in Taupo
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
134 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 69 in Taupo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing